bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • February 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    29  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 556 other followers

‘Brexit’ … Not such .. “A leap in the dark”.

Posted by Big John on February 21, 2016

My very first job when I left school in 1955 was with a large travel agency. It was at a time when ‘package holidays’ were just taking off and I found myself working with a team of people from all over Europe. The job itself was a bit boring, but the company and friendship of those ‘foreigners’ more than made up for it. I even managed to wangle a few free trips across the Channel. I loved it, and I have loved visiting Europe ever since. I have travelled extensively on the continent, speak ‘food and drink’ in several languages and once owned a modest holiday home in Spain. I have been employed by both Italian and German companies. In fact, I have always considered myself to be ‘European’.

So .. How will I vote in June ? .. IN ? .. or .. OUT ?

That’s possibly a tough one, and our Dave’s recent pissing about in Brussels has not made it any easier, because as I see it, the Eurozone countries will continue towards their full political and monetary union, and we, as some sort of junior partner, will be at their mercy as they make decisions which are in their own interest. We will have no influence, but, I assume that, as the second largest contributor to the EU bottomless money pit, we will still be handing over billions of pounds to the Brussels’ bureaucrats.

I doubt if co-operation on issues as important as security, science, defence and, above all, ‘trade’ would disappear if we vote to leave. So I would still be able to enjoy my German beer, my French wine, my Dutch cheese, my Belgium chocolate, my Italian salami, my Spanish olives and all those other European ‘goodies’.

“How will I vote?” … I’ll give it some thought, but it’s beginning to look like a …

… ‘no-brainer’ !

2 Responses to “‘Brexit’ … Not such .. “A leap in the dark”.”

  1. The pro and con arguments have rather striking similarities to early days in U.S. history when one state or group of states or another regularly threatened to leave the union. Of course, one group finally got so pissed they exited and started a very bloody war. Doesn’t look like an EU civil war lies ahead, but it will be interesting to see what the Brits decide.

  2. Ginnie said

    I can’t imagine having to make that decision. Our world is changing faster than seems possible. I almost wish I would live another 20 years or so to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

 
