bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

“Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt units them” .. Peter Ustinov

Posted by Big John on December 10, 2015

I see that nearly 50% of people in this country now claim to be non-religious, with, according to a recent inquiry, only two in five British people now identifying as Christian; with Islam, Hinduism and Sikhism overtaking Judaism as the largest non-Christian faiths in Britain: and with many of the Christian faith moving away from mainstream denominations to evangelical and Pentecostal churches.

I suppose that this means that the UK is no longer officially a Christian country: but why the move away from traditional Christian beliefs ?

Could it be that more and more people have, like me, come to doubt that Jesus Christ ever existed ? … for there is no actual proof that he did.

Please feel free to correct me, but to the best of my knowledge, Christianity is not based on true historical accounts of the time, such as official Roman or Jewish records, but on some very dodgy documents known as the gospels, the first of which was probably written during nutty Nero’s persecution of the Christians in Rome, long after the miraculous events recounted in The Bible.

Other ‘gospels’ are believed to have been written a hundred or more years later, and, over the centuries, these were often incorrectly translated, rewritten, embellished and generally mucked about with by countless priests, scribes, monks and assorted religious zealots.

If Jesus did exist, and to me, it’s a big ‘if’, he was probably just one of the dozens of preachers and ‘wannabe’ Messiahs who were roaming the Holy Land at the time, frightening the sheep, dunking people in the river … and …

… pissing off the Romans !

4 Responses to ““Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt units them” .. Peter Ustinov”

  1. I respect all beliefs, including agnosticism, John, with one exception, practicing evil for evils sake, but to me, the real problem is that most people today go to church only on high holidays, if at all, and thus have never felt the real reason to believe; not historical, or tradition, but simply the incredible power of good in each individual being united through prayer to change things in this world, or even, in some cases, to create miracles. Anyone who prays regularly, and walks into a filled room, can immediately spot other believers. I stopped an agressive type this week who was pushing me physically, repeatedly, in a grocery store line because I didn’t move fast enough by blessing him. “God bless you.” The entire atmosphere relaxed. ps in yoga courses here, they teach that na maste means my goodness meets your goodness. I hope that’s true.

  2. Big John said

    Thanks for such an interesting comment, Lin … I go along with you when it comes to others’ beliefs, and I have often stated in my posts that even though I am an atheist .. “I believe in the right of other people to believe whatever they like when it comes to religion, so long as they do no harm to others and don’t come knocking on my door trying to convert me to their beliefs”.

  3. Betty said

    I live in what I refer to as the Bible Belt Buckle. I learned years ago when someone tells me he/she is a “good Christian” to hang onto my pocketbook and run like a rabbit. I admit, I do believe in a higher power, but I agree with you that the Bible was written by people who never met Jesus. I think he lived, but there is just too much “magical thinking” about his life. And, I don’t believe in churches, especially. I have become to cynical about the people in the congregations. Maybe I’m just nitpicking my beliefs to suit me, but when you live in an area where people are convinced you are an atheist because of your politics, things just get silly.

  4. Ginnie said

    I loved what Betty wrote. It is EXACTLY how the people in my part of the country act. Live and let live seems too hard a principle for them to grasp. Donald Trump is their hero and isn’t that a scary thought ????

Leave a Reply

 
