bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • August 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 556 other followers

Barbed wire ain’t the answer !

Posted by Big John on August 30, 2015

I don’t know about you, but I get the impression that many people in this country, including the media, do not know the difference between a refugee and an immigrant.

So, what is the difference ? .. Well, a refugee is someone who is forced to leave his homeland and seek asylum in another country, and an immigrant is someone who just chooses to resettle in another country.

It is strange that many of us do not understand this, for we have seen both landing on our shores for hundreds of years, such as the Huguenots escaping persecution in France, the Jews fleeing the Russian pogroms, and later the Nazis, the Ugandan Asians kicked out by Idi Amin, the Irish and the West Indians looking for work and a better life: and although they were not always welcomed, and the ‘multicultural society’ proved not to be such a great idea, in general, our country has benefitted from the gradual influx of both refugees and immigrants.

Now we see hundreds drowning in the Mediterranean and dying in the backs of traffickers’ trucks as tens of thousands of Syrians, Eritreans and other nationalities flee war and seek safety within the European Union who’s members seem to have little idea of how to handle the situation. I know that it is a far from simple task, but surely they should be making a collective effort to stem the flow by setting up ‘safe havens’ where these people can be ‘processed’ rather than allowing them automatic entry into the EU which leads to the chaos which we have seen recently in some parts of Europe.

The Germans, to their credit, are taking in 800,000 refugees. It makes you question, knowing our past history, …

… what we should be doing ?

3 Responses to “Barbed wire ain’t the answer !”

  1. rummuser said

    I am not qualified to comment on what you should be doing. I am to on what India should be doing. As long as they are not from Pakistan or Bangladesh, we should be allowing them to come in and settle here. We have no social security and other benefits for the unemployed and so, the taxpayer does not pay for anything and in fact these people will start paying indirect taxes when they purchase things and so contribute to the revenues. I would however be very reluctant to offer them voting rights for at least a couple of decades after immigration.

  2. Dick Klade said

    We have a couple of misguided politicians who think barbed wire is the answer. Unfortunately, neither they nor anyone else in the U.S. seems to have a sensible answer to our immigrant/refugee problems. We have lots of experience, so it should be easy for those in power to sit down together and work something out. They just refuse to do that.

  3. Ginnie said

    I, as a US citizen, would be very happy to export “The Donald” to your country to live. He would finance and build a very long and high wall at all points of entry and, since.
    in his words, these are probably all rapists and hoodlums anyway, everything would be solved. Oh, I forgot … he’d only do all that if he were elected King. Darn, I guess we’re stuck with him.

Leave a Reply

 
