bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • March 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 556 other followers

A load of old …. !

Posted by Big John on March 10, 2015

In a comment on my last post from my American friend Ginnie, she asked if .. “Maybe you could teach me a few English expletives ?”. Naughty old Ginnie ! .. 🙂

That’s a difficult one, for as far as I can tell swear words seem to be much the same on both sides of ‘the pond’. Although we British don’t seem to include the word ‘mother’ in the same breath as a word which now seems to be almost ‘de rigueur’, and the rarely uttered ‘son of a bitch’ doesn’t carry the same power to shock as it seems to in the USA.

Many years ago I read about an Englishman who lived in Los Angeles and drove around town in a big flash car with personalised licence plates. Apparently the word on the plates did not cause offence, as it seemed to be unknown in America.

Now here in the UK this word is what I might call ‘flexible’, as it can be used in a number of ways, but for me it works well when I knock over my glass of wine or read about my favourite ‘royals’. So, Ginnie, please feel free to use this ‘Olde English’ expletive whenever it takes your fancy.

The word ? … Well, of course, what else could it be, but …

… BOLLOCKS !

5 Responses to “A load of old …. !”

  1. rummuser said

    http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/weird/kristen-perrys-kiki-number-plate-means-vagina-to-filipino-tagalog-people/story-e6frev20-1226042348310

  2. Ginnie said

    Thanks. You’ve made my day John. When I grew up the F__k word was NEVER used in polite company …until we entertained British sailors during the
    WW 11 years. My mother almost washed out one of our young guests mouth until he explained that it was about as bad as Gosh or Shucks over here.
    Was he being honest John or just covering up ? (PS: we loved our British sailors and some kept in touch for years after the war.)

  3. Gabbygeezer said

    I’m going to launch a few “Bollocks” and see if anybody around here has a vague notion of what I mean. Should be fun.

  4. Big John said

    Ramana … So that’s why the Filipino waiters on our cruise ship were laughing at the lady on the next table. .. 😉

    Ginnie .. I think that your ‘jolly jack tar’ was covering for himself. They don’t say “swears like a sailor” for nothing.. 🙂

    Dick .. Try “What a load of old bollocks” when you disagree with something someone has said. Just try not to get kicked in the bollocks ! .. 😦

  5. Gabbygeezer said

    Years ago, the given name of the wife of a coworker was Kiki. She seemed a pleasant, proper lady. Little did I know!

Leave a Reply

 
