bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • September 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 556 other followers

What ! .. No chickens ?

Posted by Big John on September 7, 2013

This morning I opened the kitchen window blinds, and looked out at a sunny day where a few of the first leaves of autumn had fallen, and sitting amongst those leaves and sunning himself (or herself) was …

IMG_0002 (1024x753)

… this very large fox enjoying a warm corner of my garden, relaxing and …

IMG_0008 (1024x860)

… acting as if it owned the bloody place !

6 Responses to “What ! .. No chickens ?”

  1. Grannymar said

    Maybe s/he had a take away before coming to visit you! 😉

  2. Maria said

    I shudder to think of what a fox that size would do to a neighborhood cat or a small dog. Beautiful photos however, and an amazing view of wild life for you.

  3. Ginnie said

    I thought you lived in a city, John. Is that the first time that you’ve seen a fox at your home and is that a common thing? Beautiful animal but I don’t think I’d invited him/her in to tea.

  4. Big John said

    I bet that it caused a riot in KFC, Grannymar. 🙂

    I don’t know about dogs and cats, Maria, but I have not seen any of the usual birds in my garden for a day or two.

    Ginnie .. I don’t exactly live in the country, but in a ‘village’ type neighbourhood on the edge of a coastal town. Here in the UK ‘urban foxes’ are very active in the largest cities and can even be seen in the middle of London.

    BTW … The fox was there again this morning !

  5. Good photos. Our wildlife experts tell us foxes are roaming about in our rural area after being hunted almost to extinction years ago. However, neither I nor anyone I know has seen one. I’ll keep a sharper eye out.

  6. rummuser said

    Lucky you.

Leave a Reply

 
