bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

Numbers count !

Posted by Big John on March 4, 2012

When I was at school during the ‘Dark Ages’ I recited my “times tables” in class and learned to add, subtract, multiply and divide, which was known as “doing sums”, and this process helped me to get by after leaving school when it came to working out such important things as … Did I have enough cash to buy a round of drinks in the ‘local’ ? .. or .. Was I able to order fish with my chips ? .. or ..  Could I afford the expensive tickets for the back row of the cinema for me and some lucky young lady ? .. or even more important .. Would I have enough money left for bus fare or would I have to walk home ?

Quite how I was to benefit from my struggles with algebra and geometry was another matter, and to this day I haven’t a clue what equations and logarithms were all about; but basic maths (Yes America, we do add an ‘s’) was essential, and as far as I recall, in those days, before pocket calculators, everyone seemed to be able to calculate using pounds and ounces, feet and inches and even good old £.s.d. 

Now I learn that research reveals that a rising proportion of adults are unable to perform even the most basic calculations needed to get by in life. Yes, around 17 million people can’t “do sums”.

I wonder how many of them …

… are teachers ?

2 Responses to “Numbers count !”

  1. Rummuser said

    We were taught to multiply and divide using fractions too! Today, I find that even the Bania class famous for their arithmetic and book keeping skills depend on calculators while, I overtake them by doing the same work mentally. Yes, it is a sad commentary on our education system.

  2. Grannymar said

    They don’t do maths any more they call it numeracy. All the rest seems to come under the umbrella of literacy!

Leave a Reply

 
