bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

It’s not like “Porridge”.

Posted by Big John on March 5, 2011

Recently we have had news stories about prisoners demanding to be addressed as “Mister” and being denied their ‘human rights’ by not being allowed to vote: and now it’s been reported that almost half a million pounds is to be spent on questioning those ‘doing time’ in British jails about their quality of life.

No, I’m not making this up; for it appears that half of those ‘banged up’ in this country’s jails will be asked if they feel “looked after” (it gets worse), if they get on with the screws prison officers, if they sleep well and are they allowed enough time on the telephone.

What, nothing about their favourite Sky TV shows or which ‘Lad’s Mags’ they read ?

What would Norman Stanley Fletcher have made of it all ?

Other questions ask if the cons guests of ‘er Maj have opportunities to relax and “be themselves” and if their period of confinement “feels like a punishment”.

I wonder if they will be asked about .. remorse .. guilt .. or .. the fate of their victims ? … I very much doubt it.

In a previous post about my ancestry I referred to a family member who was on record at a ‘Quarter Sessions’, in 1868, as …. “being charged with larceny : sentenced to two months hard labour ….

I bet he never felt “looked after” when he was  …

…    breaking rocks with a bloody great hammer.

5 Responses to “It’s not like “Porridge”.”

  1. Grannymar said

    How many of the victims or their close family will be treated with kid gloves? Unfortunately they are left to pick up the pieces whatever way they can!

  2. rummuser said

    Please do read this : http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2009-11-26/india/28082760_1_arthur-road-jail-kasab-jj-hospital
    Rs.31 crores is Rs.310Millions. He stays in luxury.

  3. The fact is that we do not know what to do with law breakers.

    The ideal, surely, would be to involve them in some programme that resulted in their never offending again – “rehabilitation”, to use that word. Unfortunately, none of the experiments carried out have achieved much success. Punishment – looked at as a deterrent to future offending – doesn’t work, either.

    Out of simple despair, the courts have taken to banging up offenders on the grounds that this at least prevents them offending for as long as they are in jail. That is all it does.

    Jail, then, does not “work” either as a punishment or as a deterrent. It simply keeps offenders away from the rest of society for the duration. This being so, there is no point in making jail any harder for the inmates than it need be. Making the regime harsh serves no useful purpose and probably creates resentment in prisoners leading to further revenge offending when they are released.

    If you want prison to be harsh out of some sadistic desire for revenge, that’s up to you, but I think one should ask what the point is of treating people in an inhumane way (something we are punishing those same criminals for) if it serves no useful purpose. By meting out harsh treatment we are in fact saying that it is acceptable to treat people badly. That is not a message a morally healthy society should be sending out.

  4. Ginnie said

    Well, I can agree with ONE thing that SilverTiger said … we really don’t know what to do with law breakers…or rather, I should say in my opinion, we over-react to petty crimes such as pot smoking and then buckle under to the demands of hardened criminals. I think our jails are filled with people who should never have been put there.
    On a lighter note … how do you cross out words in your blogs when you type them up? My blogger friend AC from Canada does the same thing and it’s a great tool for humor but I can’t figure how it’s done.

  5. Big John said

    ‘Grannymar’ … Yes, too often the victims are forgotten, and even worse the criminals are too often presented as ‘victims’.

    ‘Rummuser’ … Thanks for the link. Crazy old world isn’t it.

    ‘Tiger’ … Some fair points. However I do not ask for prisoners to be treated harshly “out of some sadistic desire for revenge”, nor do I demand that they be treated “in an inhumane way”, just that prisons should be the sort of places to which no one wishes to return. Too often we read of “holiday camps” and “soft” treatment.

    ‘Ginnie’ … Ah ! a lighter note. 🙂 On my ‘wordpress’ task bar there is an icon of a crossed out letter, the same as ‘bold’ and ‘italic’.

Leave a Reply

 
