bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

Who do I think I am. Part 2

Posted by Big John on February 10, 2011

A short while ago I published this post about my search for my ancestors and ended by saying that there was another story to be told, for although the family I found had for the most part fairly humble origins, one branch of the old family tree led down a very different path.

In the year 1839 parish records show that my great-great-grandfather, who was a farmer, married a young lady who was possibly ‘above his station’, for my great-great-grandmother was descended through seven generations of the same family to a lady of noble birth who’s father was thought to be the illegitimate son of King Henry VIII (1491-1547). This lady, in her own right, was descended from the ‘Plantagenets’, so which ever way you look at it, and much to my disgust as a republican, it would seem that I have a few drops of royal blood pumping through my old veins.

Now ‘she who must be obeyed’ has always commented on the fact that I do look a bit like the “Merry Monarch”, (probably something to do with his codpiece) and now that I think about it I do see some resemblance (which is more than can be said for this bloke).

Today is my 72nd birthday, so I’m off to the pub for lunch with ‘she who must be obeyed’. I just hope that they have not run out of …

… Ye Olde civit of hare … Ye wilde boar … and .. Ye gilt sugar plums.

8 Responses to “Who do I think I am. Part 2”

  1. Grannymar said

    Enjoy your Birthday and the untold treasures of your ancestry trail!

  2. Jay said

    Happy birthday!

  3. Are you contacting Buckingham Palace in the hope of recognition?

    When I lived in Brighton, we knew a family (I will not name them for fear of embarrassing any descendants) whose head was convinced that he was related to royalty and kept attempting to secure recognition from the monarch. Alas for him, all of his attempts were rebuffed. Unsurprisingly, perhaps: after all, when you’re onto a good thing you don’t want to share it with latecomers, do you?

  4. Happy Birthday, John! And, many more.

  5. Maria said

    John,
    Have a very happy birthday. I too am tracing ancestors and just wrote a post about one of my discoveries. No royal blood here and to my chagrin, my ancestors do not beat a path straight back to Ireland as I had wanted to believe. They dilly dallied among the English, Scots, and God knows what else. My father always said we were “blue-bellied yankees’ and I guess he was right. My dogs have better pedigrees!.

    My husband however is only a second generation American and it is his family that I am finding very interesting.

  6. rummuser said

    A belated birthday greetings Big John and best wishes for many more. Hoist one for me too at the pub!

  7. rummuser said

    My family name is Rajgopaul. Raja of Gopals. Gopals meaning cowboys. (cowherds in our part of the world.) A name given to Krishna. That makes me the king of cowboys with descent from one of India’s Gods.

  8. Big John said

    Blimey ! Rammuser … John Wayne and a deity. That takes some beating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
