bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

Over priced and now ‘over here’.

Posted by Big John on June 6, 2007

Over the years we have all become familiar with American food ‘giants’ appearing on our high streets and in our shopping malls, and our nation’s health has suffered as a result, so I was interested  to read that another US food outlet has opened it’s doors for the first time today.

No, this time it’s not burgers, pizzas or ‘southern fried’ grease with lumps in, but healthy, wholesome, ‘organic’ food from a company that I had never heard of until today … ‘Whole Foods Market’.

Londoners living in up-market Kensington can now buy their trendy ‘fruit and veg’ and fancy breads at what would, at first glance, appear to be ‘fancy’ prices.

The store is now the largest food outlet in central London, and it has been announced that twenty more such stores are to be opened throughout the country. Having seen how fast other American chains have grown here, I have to wonder if they will stop at twenty ?

OK, so McDonald’s and all the rest may have slightly damaged the trade of the good old fish and chips shops, but a ‘giant’ like Whole Foods Market could be ‘the final straw’ for many small traders who are under pressure from the big supermarket chains, and would pose a real threat to local farmers’ markets and the like.

Whilst I welcome any opportunity to buy good quality healthy food, I can’t help but hope that Whole Foods Market maintain their pricing policy which in the USA has given them the name … ‘Whole Pay Cheque’.

I understand that there is no parking at the new store, but shoppers who spend more than £100 ($200) will be offered two hours free at a nearby car park, and if that’s all they spend …

…  they won’t need help carrying their bag.

4 Responses to “Over priced and now ‘over here’.”

  1. Betty said

    I have never been to a Whole Foods store, but it never ceases to amaze me how expensive “healthy” food is. They charge extra for all the preservatives they DON’T put in the food.

    I don’t like these Mega-stores, anyway, like Wal-Mart. They drive small stores out of business, and have just ruined small towns all over this country.

  2. Margaret said

    I live here and can’t barely afford it. I read online once someone who wondered after seeing photos of the American poor, why we were so fat. It is mainly because fresh veggies, fish, lean cuts of meat and healthy whole grain foods and cereals are too expensive.

  3. gawilli said

    Shopping at the “whole foods” stores (any of them) is definitely not cheap. We have stopped at Trader Joe’s for whole bean coffee and wine. Those prices are much lower than at the grocery. Sadly, the smaller markets in our area are just as expensive so as a result we find ourselves at the larger chain gorceries. We tried last fall to shop one of the smaller markets. Their selection was very limited and the produce was in poor shape. We ended up at the grocery to round out our shopping list anyway. There is a great roadside stand that I frequent during the summer when they sell their own produce. Nothing can compare to that. Sadly, I guess what it comes down to is price and convenience. Shame on me?

  4. Jackshian said

    I read that they only offer 21 varieties of tomatoes .. how will healthy/organic people manage!

Leave a Reply

 
