bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 556 other followers

Time to ‘beat retreat’ ?

Posted by Big John on March 2, 2007

I see that Charlie raided the ‘dressing up’ box again this week when he visited the Welsh Guards in Banja Luka and had the bloody nerve to wear an army ‘combat’ uniform and to carry a field officer’s cane.  

Still at least his visit coincided with the good news that the remaining 600 British troops in Bosnia will soon be on their way home from this almost forgotten trouble spot. Which made me wonder how many more troops Britain has scattered about the world and why. Not to mention how much it must be costing the tax payer ?

OK, so we all know that we have thousands of soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan, even if we are not too clear about why they are having their lives put at risk in these hell holes: but what about …

  • Northern Ireland … 8,000 … I thought Tony surrendered to the IRA years ago.
  • Germany … 22,000 … I thought that the Berlin Wall came down in 1989, and somehow I can’t see old Adolf being resurrected.
  • The South Atlantic Islands … 1,200 … It’s twentyfive years since the Falklands War and if Argentina wanted to take the islands again, and God knows why they would, I suspect that they would have done so by now.
  • Cyprus … 3,000 … Britain’s involvement in the ‘EOKA’ conflict ended in 1959 when one of the worst ‘postings’ (I was lucky not to be sent there) must have become one of the best. Now it must be like a squaddie’s holiday paradise .
  •  Gibralter … 600 … Come on ! The days of Britain ‘ruling the waves’ are long gone, and the only time we are likely to fight the Spanish is during a European Cup match or in a Benidorm bar.

Has anyone ever heard of Diego Garcia ?

Well it’s an Island in the Indian Ocean where we kicked out the poor bloody islanders during the mid-1960s so that our US military masters allies could build a huge base there, and it seems that today we still have around fifty of our servicemen hiding among the three thousand Americans on the Island. Can someone …

…     please tell me why ?

3 Responses to “Time to ‘beat retreat’ ?”

  1. Betty said

    I’m as much in the dark as you are. We have so many troops in so many places, one wonders how we manage to have any left here at home? When will we learn that we can’t be the world’s watchdog, or nanny, depending on how you look at it?

  2. Jackshian said

    No doubt this information will be covered by the ‘Official Secrets Act’ which as we all know was designed to hide the chaos and bollocks up that the Government creates so often.

    I bet the Welsh Guards wish they were going to Diego Garcia instead of Afghanistan .. what a bloody mess.

  3. Big John said

    Jack – I had to sign the ‘Official Secrets Act’ in 1958 when I was in the RAF and working at a ‘secret’ radar station. I wonder if they will come and get me one day ? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
