bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC.
    That’s ‘Before Computers’.

    Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as

    World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all… Archbishop Temple’s School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock ‘n’ Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during ‘The Cold War’…and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became ‘a family’. Which meant that I sort of missed the ‘swinging sixties’, but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the ‘Thatcher Years’ I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 56 years of happy marriage.

  • October 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 553 other followers

The art of ‘Bullshit’.

Posted by Big John on October 4, 2006

Anyone who is a regular reader of this blog will know that there are a couple of things that are guaranteed to raise my blood pressure. One is the antics of our so called ‘royals’ and the other is the ‘artistic’ event know as the ‘Turner Prize’.

OK, I’m not too concerned about idiots giving away money to crafty untalented con-artists, but it’s the way that these same idiot ‘art experts’ try to justify piles of crap (literally in some cases) as works of art that really infuriates me.

One of this year’s top entries consists of the sweepings from ‘artist’ Rebecca Warren’s studio floor and the road outside, and although they can in no way compare to Tracey Emin’s ‘My Bed’ of 1999 (with it’s stained sheets, dirty underware and used condoms), curator Lizzie Carey-Thomas, says “Despite the abject nature of the material, and the fact it is rubbish, there is a mini-drama going on. The objects are active within the box itself. They have emotional and associative resonance, and can communicate meaning“. I wonder if she is the same silly cow curator who hailed last year’s prize winning ‘shed’ as “poetic . . . a buttress against the pressures of modernity, mass production and global capitalism”.

There is one painter, Tomma Abts,  on this year’s short-list who’s paintings are described by RACHEL CAMPBELL-JOHNSTON of ‘The Times’ as … “based on nothing in the real world. Rather, they grow through some painstakingly rigorous process of organic accretion to construct quasi-geometrical patterns that mimic nothing you know of but are increasingly intriguing for the way that they work, for the way that they trap an unsettling sense of movement or play with unexpected visual illusions and spatial relationships”.

I suppose that if you spend your life looking at displays of shit as these two ‘hyphenated’ women do, then  …

……     you end up by talking out of your arse.

5 Responses to “The art of ‘Bullshit’.”

  1. ginnie said

    John, you are a man after my own heart. How that gobeldygook can be taken seriously is remarkable. Kindof sounds like our politicians!

  2. Longrider said

    “Emotional and associative resonance”

    Where do they get these people from? Is it any wonder the art world is generally regarded as vacuous and pretentious? The woman put a pile of rubbish in a box for crying out loud. It is not art; not by any stretch of the imagination.

    Still she gives Wanksy and Emmin a run for their money… 😐

  3. gawilli said

    Admittedly, I have a bit of a problem connecting to some contemporary art. We saw an exhibit at the Cheekwood in Nashville, Tennessee last spring. It was called 100 Artists See God. Some of the pieces seemed completely disconnected. Others were very interesting and thought provoking. The artists were asked to exemplify their vision of God, or lack thereof. There was a book at the end for people to comment. The reactions were very interesting, particularly from the fundamentalists who did not comment on the art, but their resentment for the treatment of the topic. 100 Artists See God You can Google the title if this link does not work.

  4. Big John said

    Thanks for the link Gawilli. I do enjoy some ‘modern’ art by talented artists. It’s the untalented sensation seekers and their followers that annoy me.

  5. Terri said

    Unreal…what the so-called “experts” consider “art.” I realize that beauty is in the eye of the beholder….but that bed one….did I miss the “beauty” there?

Leave a Reply

 
