bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • August 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

Here we go again. – Part Nine

Posted by Big John on August 13, 2014

I ended ‘Part Eight’ with President Obama’s statement … “I don’t rule out anything” ! … and guess what ? .. American warplanes are now shooting the shit out of yet another bunch of very unpleasant religious nutters in ‘Eye-Rack’. Although in this case they are trying their best to save the lives of a people, the Yasidis, of whom we had never heard until a few days ago.

Now we learn that British aircraft are involved, although so far, only in a humanitarian role.

Which brings me to my question … Why is it always the USA and some other western powers who have to try and solve the bloody problems of what is largely the ‘Arab World’ ?

OK, so I know that our own political ‘pygmies’, got this present mess started by naïvely thinking that democracy, human rights and religious freedom actually meant something to all the tribes, sects, political factions, military leaders and assorted crooks and bandits, not to mention every kind of religious loony in this part of the world: but surely it is about time that all the rulers of those oil rich states, and others, stopped counting their money and  flaunting their wealth and started to sort out the problems and help the persecuted people of their own region, and the followers of their own religion ?

I suppose that there isn’t much chance of that, when those now being slaughtered are considered to be ‘infidels’ or just the wrong kind of Muslim.

… Ain’t it great to be religious ?

5 Responses to “Here we go again. – Part Nine”

  1. Grannymar said

    You got it wrong, John. It is all the so called ‘American Oil’ under the sand they are protecting. Is that not why they invaded the first time?

  2. Gabbygeezer said

    Whose oil, Grannymar? U.S. gets about 13 percent of its oil imports from the Middle East. Our European allies get about 70 percent of their oil from the Middle East. I think John has a good point. President Obama seems to think so, too. No boots on Syrian ground, and several statements to the Iraqis to get their own act together or help is going to be very limited or evaporate altogether.

  3. Ginnie said

    Ah, you hit the nail on the head, John. (Ain’t it great to be religious ?) Just imagine how nice and peaceful the world could be without man-made religion it it !! (As a side note I hate that President Obama inherited all this Iraq mess from Dubya.)

  4. rummuser said

    Why the USA and the UK? Noblesse Oblige!!

  5. Gabbygeezer said

    Sometimes we get a tad tired of sending our hard-earned money and shedding our young citizen’s blood to help people who don’t seem greatly interested in making an effort to join the civilized world (but have the audacity to insult us at every opportunity).

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

