bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • May 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Melancholy Morons.

Posted by Big John on May 20, 2014

Every day I feel more out of touch with modern life, or perhaps I should say, out of touch with the behaviour of other people in this world of  ‘faux’ emotion, hysterical reaction and undignified and often aggressive behaviour in public.

At the risk of sounding a more grumpy old sod than usual, I must say that I am sick to death of turning on my TV only to be greeted with the sight of the weeping winners of cookery competitions, the crying losers of so-called talent shows, the non-stop screaming of the audiences, ‘celeb’ judges biting their trembling lips, big tough football (soccer) ‘heroes’ wiping away their tears, complete strangers hugging and kissing, and people applauding coffins at funerals. I have to wonder how long it will be before we see an undertaker ‘high-fiving’ a row of mourners ?

Now, there is nothing wrong in showing your true emotions or affection for others. I just think that very many people today can’t see that the ‘reality’ nonsense shown on TV is just that ! .. ‘nonsense’ ! .. and so they feel that they must publicly ‘fall apart’ at every opportunity; or, even worse, ‘worship’ at some roadside ‘grief-lite’ shrine to someone they never knew. Blimey ! .. Recently some nutters even called for the erection of a roadside memorial to a truck load of chickens killed in a traffic accident !

I must admit that I am not a ‘touchy-feely’ person and reserve my hugs and kisses for ‘my nearest and dearest’, for I am a ‘remnant’ of an age when a handshake was a normal greeting. It was also the way in which sportsmen and others congratulated each other; and wearing black and showing self-restraint was how one displayed respect for the dead.

I think that I had better stop now, and go for a lie down as I feel …

… a ‘stiff upper lip’ coming on !   …   ;-)

4 Responses to “Melancholy Morons.”

  1. I agree with you. I find all the copious tears of both men and women ridiculous. And all the over the top squealing by women in audiences of talk shows or cooking contests I find disgusting. But then, I find most people disgusting in general these days.

  2. Gabbygeezer said

    Amen, or Spot On, take your pick.

  3. rummuser said

    I was like that till a daughter in law came in to my life over a dozen years ago. She was just too bubbly and effervescent for a staid old koi hai type like me and she changed me into a mellower version. Sadly, though she is still part of my life, she is no longer my daughter in law but her replacement is no less in seeing to that I am more flexible. Odd how youth can change old codgers like me.

  4. Ginnie said

    You hit a sore point when you mentioned “non-stop screaming of the audience…” I, literally, can’t stand that so now my TV watching is CBS Nightime news and Jeopardy … after that I go to bed and read…and I don’t feel like I miss a thing !

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

