bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

My turn to play … “the idiot abroad” !

Posted by Big John on July 13, 2013

The Alcazaba is an impressive medieval fortress overlooking the Andalucían city of Almería …

Almeria

(click on images to enlarge)

I thought about following the pathway which leads to the top of the cliffs on which it is built, but decided instead, on leaving the port area in the blazing sun …

AB2

… to join the locals in the nearest bar for a nice cold beer, but I should have looked more closely at those ‘locals’, as I parked the old ‘trouble and strife’ at a table outside the café and wandered up to the bar.

Summoning up my best Spanish accent, I smiled at the barman and ordered .. “Dos cañas, por favor” .. He did not return my smile and did not answer me in Spanish, but I got the message ! even though I don’t speak Arabic ! I looked around at the customers in the café, all men, and all drinking from small glasses of coffee or tea …

Almeria (3)

… The sign over the door should have been a clue to what to expect within !

I’m pleased to say that the waiter in the café across the road …

Almeria (2)

… greeted us with a cheerful .. “Ola”.. and free plates of tapas with our cold beers; and this blue eyed little charmer …

Almeria (5)

… seemed to enjoy our company as we sat in the welcome shade: or perhaps it was …

…  just the smell of the tapas ?

3 Responses to “My turn to play … “the idiot abroad” !”

  1. I think we all have had stories like that.

  2. Ginnie said

    I’m so glad that I’m not the only one who has made a gaff in a foreign country, John ! Your pictures are great. I enjoyed catching up on your blog entries now that I’m back from my 3 week Hiatus.

  3. Something like that happened to me when I innocently wandered into a Mexican bar in Utah where “Gringos” weren’t warmly greeted. I believe I saw a flashing knife blade in the dimly lit bistro, but I left so fast i couldn’t be sure.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

