bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

What next … Quarter Pandas ?

Posted by Big John on January 18, 2013

How we British love a good ‘food scare’, but the latest is rather a big fuss about nothing, for as far as I know horse meat does not poison you or make you ill. In fact, I believe that it is one of the most nutritious red meats you can eat, high in protein and low in calories.

Yes, I know, everyone is getting their knickers in a twist about horse meat being ground up with beef (and Gawd knows what else!), but they don’t seem to be too concerned that it will end up in a bun which contains more preservatives than an ancient Egyptian mummy.  

If you eat pigs, cows and sheep why should you shy (Oops !) away from eating the cooked flesh of a horse ? Come to that, if you eat rabbit, why should you not eat rat or squirrel ? All over the world people eat all sorts of mammals, birds, fish and even insects, and I’ve eaten some very strange food in some very strange places. 

In many countries horses are seen as agricultural and food animals. Here in the UK, they have, to a large degree, acquired pet status, and the thought of munching on the minced remains of old ‘Midnight’ or dining on dear dead ‘Dobbin’ (I wonder if Daisy the Donkey qualifies as horse meat?) is just too much for many of us to stomach.

I’ve just read that 10,000,000 burgers are to be destroyed. What a waste ! Why not put them on the supermaket shelves marked with the a standard type warning on the packaging …

…  “May contain horse” !

5 Responses to “What next … Quarter Pandas ?”

  1. rummuser said

    The Dutch will pay a fine and all will be fine once again!

  2. Dick Klade said

    Shoppers who like to “shoot up” with something other than fireworks might cause a riot trying to buy something labeled “horse.”

  3. Grannymar said

    Maybe folk thought that it might be My Little Pony! I remember being at a conference in Austria back in the late sixties, We arrived back at the hotel late one evening for an arranged set meal. The starter was eaten with gusto and then the main course arrived, it looked wonderful and tasted better. About three mouthfuls in someone mentioned that we were eating Bambi! I was the only one out of twenty not to down tools.

  4. Ginnie said

    Throwing out all that meat …and to think there are people starving !!! It’s amazing.
    On a different subject … when I was in Italy in 2001 we stayed in 8 different guest monastaries and would often have supper there … we never could tell what the meat was !!

  5. Big John said

    I always enjoy a nice ‘Bambi’ steak, Grannymar. I’ve also eaten ‘Rudolph’. :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

