bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Archive for January 15th, 2013

Just call them all … ‘Brat’ !

Posted by Big John on January 15, 2013

In the past I have commented on children’s names, for as someone who grew up with Bills, Daves, Jims, Margarets and Beryls, I have found it a little strange in recent years to find myself addressing Kylies, Keanus and Keeleys, although I have yet to come across a Keisha or a Kayden.

Now, it seems, that to make their little darlings stand out from the crowd, and, in particular, from the rest of the class, some parents are not content with naming their angels Courtney, Jayde, Chanice and Tyler, but are taking perfectly acceptable names and messing about with the spelling: thus, Amy becomes Aimeey, Sophie becomes Sophee and Cloe becomes Kloe; and apparently, for some reason, teachers are associating such names with the ‘trouble makers’ in their classrooms. I suppose they assume that if you are a kid with a name like Chardonnay, Chanel or even Diesel then Mummy and Daddy (if there is a ‘daddy’ around ?) will probably not be the type of parents who are trying to instil in their offspring traditional values, including those of good behaviour at home and at school.

Of course, in our celebrity-mad culture, there are bound to be a few Britneys, Rihannas, Demis and Ashtons knocking about in any classroom, and according to one report, some parents are naming their children after Disney characters. OK, so some nutty pop star might get away with calling his daughter Tinker Bell, but what kind of  parent would send their child off to school with a name like ‘Buzz Lightyear’ ? .. but, then again, you can bet your life, that in the corner of some playground, there will be some poor little sod wishing that his parents had named him Norman …

… instead of .. ‘Nemo’ !

Posted in humour, rant | 2 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers