bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 51 other followers

Archive for January 11th, 2013

Rubbish reviews.

Posted by Big John on January 11, 2013

How much do you trust on-line product reviews ? You know, the sort of thing that you find, with star ratings, on ‘Amazon’ and on so called independant comparison websites.

My ‘stone age’ DVD player ‘gave up the ghost’ recently, spluttering and flickering it’s final images, before spitting out it’s last half viewed disc, so I decided to buy a new one and, not being too technically minded when it comes to modern day gizmos, I sought guidance from the ‘experts’ and those users who had recently purchased the type of equipment that I needed.

Now we all know that there is no such thing as a ‘simple’ electronic device anymore, so I spent bloody ages studying specifications and trying to decide if I needed .. multi-region .. upscaling to 720p, 1080i and 1080p resolution ..  HDMI connection ..  MP3 and JPEG support .. REGZA link .. SCART cable .. and a dozen other features which might just as well have been written in Chinese for all they meant to me !

After much deliberation I decided on a model which ‘suited my pocket’ and then I read the reviews which ranged from … “Excellent, great sound and picture” … “Fantastic value for money” .. to .. “Piece of crap ! Do not buy”, but the one that caught my eye and really ‘sold me’ on this item was .. “Easy to install. After unpacking it was up and running in two minutes”.

My very smart looking DVD player arrived today, and I’ve just spent two hours pissing about behind my TV, pushing buttons on the remote, reading on-screen menus, trying to understand the stupid diagrams in the installation manual, and using a lot of …

… very naughty words !

Posted in humour, rant | 7 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers