bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

“Oops!” … Abbot Dionysius Exiguus.

Posted by Big John on November 23, 2012

I wonder if the Pope has been reading my recent post ? as it seems that the Pontiff has just written the third volume about the life of Jesus Christ, although how you can write three lengthy books about the life of someone who has never been proved to have existed beats me !

I was pleased to read that old Benedict believes that there were not any animals present at the birth in Bethlehem, which rather backs up my ‘evidence’ for the hotel receipt, as I doubt if the doorman at the Galilee Hilton would have let donkeys and oxen into the lobby, let alone a bunch of scruffy shepherds with sheep shit on their sandals.

Now, according to the boss of the Roman Catholic Church, we have all been eating our turkey, pulling our crackers and opening our presents (not to mention getting legless) on the wrong day, as the date of Jesus’s birth was miscalculated by some monk back in the days when the book, believed by many, to be “the word of God” was being written, re-written, made up and generally mucked about with by half the clerics and scribes in Christendom.

I have never believed that The Bible is anything like a true historical record, but something concocted from ancient myths and legends by scheming priests, to enable them to invent all the ‘mumbo-jumbo’ and ‘traditions’ that would give them power over the poor bloody peasants of the day.

Now, although I have only read extracts from Herr Ratzinger’s work, he seems to be backing, to some degree, the ‘tradition’ theory, which is strange, for once you start comparing the myth with the historical records, and try and change the story, you are likely to run into all sorts of problems, which may well demonstrate the story to be … 

…   a total fabrication ! 

4 Responses to ““Oops!” … Abbot Dionysius Exiguus.”

  1. Grannymar said

    You mean we all need a different excuse for having a party?

  2. It seems the Pope has confirmed that he does read your blog! Keep feeding him new ideas. Constructive change may result, but I doubt it.

  3. As refreshing and enjoyable post as ever. Dear me, no animals. Poor Sarah Palin and the non-evolutionists who believe the dinosaurs were roaming the earth around that time. Although, I think adding a mechanical purple Barney dinosaur singing, “You love me, I love you, We are a happy family etc. to the nativity set might just be the right touch.

  4. rummuser said

    Big John, you are in big trouble. The Pope does not have to read you. Others like Harold Camping may well be reading your blog and if I were you, I would keep a loaded shot gun close at hand.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

