bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

In the name of tolerance.

Posted by Big John on November 18, 2012

In the top right corner of this blog is a quote from Voltaire on the defence of free speech, so I was pleased to see that the gay human rights campaigner Peter Tatchell has supported the right of Adrian Smith to express his views on gay marriage.

The judge in this case said …“The frank but lawful expression of religious or political views may frequently cause a degree of upset, and even offence, to those with deeply held contrary views, even where none is intended by the speaker. This is a necessary price to be paid for freedom of speech.”  Not something you expect to hear in today’s ‘PC’ world.
 
As far as I’m concerned when it comes to gay marriage; if any priest is happy to marry two gay people he should be free to do so, but he should not be forced to do so by law; and it has nothing to do with anyone else ! I’m sure that there are more than enough gay and unbigoted clerics in the Church of England to go round, so there shouldn’t be much of a problem; and as for the Roman Catholic Church? … Umm ! Well let’s not go there !

On the other side of the coin, I see that one of my favourite examples of ‘free speech’ has also been in the news recently. Do you suppose that all the Muslim bus drivers …

… can’t read ?

3 Responses to “In the name of tolerance.”

  1. Tolerance is such a wonderful thing when others use it to let me express my views. But I just cannot understand how those fools can think and act as they do!

  2. rummuser said

    And we can create other stories too!

    An Arab enters a taxi in New York…

    Once he is seated he asks the cab driver to turn off the radio because he must not hear music as decreed by his religion and, in the time of the prophet, there was no music, especially Western music which is music of the infidel’s and certainly no radio ……..

    So the cab driver politely switches off the radio, stops the cab and opens the back door.

    The Arab asks him: “What are you doing man?”

    The cabby answers: “In the time of the prophet there were no taxis. So get the f*** out and wait for a camel.”

  3. Ginnie said

    I love the sign. I think “Get Over It” can apply to almost all the petty and deep seeded prejudices that abound in our society.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

