bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • October 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

What happened to .. “with hard labour” ?

Posted by Big John on October 25, 2012

In the same week that clueless Cameron has been waffling on about crime and punishment, and coming up with the usual half-baked ideas about rehabilitation etc. up pops this example of life behind bars in Britain today. No wonder so many people feel that prison does not work !

So what is the answer ? … Well, obviously…  Make prison work ! … by making life ‘inside’ so uncomfortable that criminals will not wish to return for a second term. Then stop the early release scheme so that prisoners know that ten years will mean ten years and not five as is the case now, and that ‘life’ will mean the rest of their ‘natural’ !

I know that in a perfect world all thieves, rapists, murderers and feckless lowlifes now serving time would be rehabilitated and rejoin society as decent citizens, but unfortunately this is not a perfect world and I doubt if the majority of them will ever change their ways, unless they dread being ‘banged up’ again for at least double their last sentence.

Having said this, I feel that those ex-prisoners who do wish to leave a life of crime behind them should be helped in every way possible including training to improve their education and social skills, so that they stand a better chance of finding employment.

In the meantime I expect that repeat offenders on their way to HMP Haverigg are demanding  …

… a cell with a view !

3 Responses to “What happened to .. “with hard labour” ?”

  1. Ginnie said

    Finding a middle road around this problem is almost impossible, John. I have two friends who are both out of prison for over 30 years and have done amazing good works in that time. They both were rehabilitated in prison … but the percentage of good outcomes is miniscule so it makes one wonder if it’s worth it.

  2. rummuser said

    All societies are doing something seriously wrong with imprisonments. The inmate population is growing constantly and we seem to be stuck with a no win situation. Here is a very touching clip on a related matter which may well provide clues to your quandary. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76s6uuUVIDk

  3. I favor treating prisoners humanely, but coddling them does no good. They should be offered the chance to work to gain improved job skills and better educations. If they choose not to participate in their own rehabilitation–keep ‘em behind bars and forget where the key is kept.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

