bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Keeping ‘abreast’ of the news.

Posted by Big John on September 17, 2012

I’m trying very hard to resist commenting on Kate’s boobs, but it’s not easy, for although they are nothing to get too excited about, those ‘knockers’ have knocked just about every other news story off the front pages of our newspapers.

A bloody civil war in Syria ! .. Fatwas and fury in the Middle East ! .. Iran threatening to wipe out Israel ! .. 23 million people threatened with starvation in West Africa ! .. None of this seems to be as important as topless royal ‘totty’.  Blimey ! It’s an even bigger story than ‘hero’ Harry being ‘targeted’ by the Taliban.

What will the papers be full of next week ? … Umm ! .. Probably pictures of  …

… Pippa’s bum !

5 Responses to “Keeping ‘abreast’ of the news.”

  1. grannymar said

    You read my thoughts at breakfast time. Aunty Beeb may not be showing pictures, but she sure as hell is getting mileage out of this AND the licence payers are letting them away with it!

    If people didn’t buy the papers there would be no jobs for those dreadful photographers, journalists and editors.

  2. All the media I get have been featuring the topless Kate story, but none are using the photos. I was disappointed until reading your expert assessment of the excitement they would create. Now I can rest easy.

  3. Consider it an interval of comic relief.

    As I understand it, the (in)famous photos were taken from the public highway. We are surely entitled to ask why the potential future queen of England thought it was a good idea to expose herself where she could be seen from said public highway. The court will have to decide whether publishing the photos (as opposed to quietly salivating over them at home) constitutes an invasion of privacy but the fact remains that the royal-by-marriage person at the centre of the dispute acted negligently and that this should be taken into account by the court.

    A further point is that the Royal Family is surely ill-advised to take the matter to court as this will give further publicity to the incident and make the pictures top viewing right around the world. Furthermore, it will only serve to make them a laughing stock.

    Oh, I forgot: they already are…

  4. Ginnie said

    I was pretty sure we’d hear from you concerning the bare facts here, John. I’ve just about given up on TV and other media “news” … what a waste of good time, which certainly includes our ridiculous political ads (both sides). The debates I will watch, though.

  5. Rummuser said

    I am salivating at that prospect!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

