bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Love it or loathe it kids … It’s soon to be compulsory !

Posted by Big John on August 14, 2012

Because the UK won loads of medals in the Olympic Games, our Dave has decided that all primary school children in England will have to play competitive sports in future. His mate Mayor Boris and all those who will most certainly make a few bob out of it also think this is a fantastic idea, but did anyone ask the children what they think ?

My own memory of competative sport was one of the ‘cinder’ (not grass) football (soccer) pitch in Brockwell Park on a freezing cold winter’s day. I was probably about eight or nine years old. I was wearing tough leather studded ankle boots and thick woollen socks with folded comic books tucked inside them in the hope of protecting my young shins. My ‘uniform’ consisted of a pair of long baggy navy blue shorts and a long sleeved shirt fastened at the neck by a shoe lace.

My position on the field of play was right back, although ‘right back’ behind the goal posts would have suited me better, as that was the only place to be if you were to avoid being hit in the face by a very hard leather ball, being kicked in the goolies or having your knees grazed by falling on the cinders. As you will have guessed I hated every minute of it and spent most of the game trying to stay as far away from the ball as possible.

Bonkers ‘BoJo’ may have happily spent two hours a day on the playing fields of Eton, so it may come as a shock to him and his Old Etonian ‘toff’ pals when he learns that some youngsters are not too keen on being chased around a muddy field by …

… some demented whistle blowing bully in a tracksuit.

5 Responses to “Love it or loathe it kids … It’s soon to be compulsory !”

  1. Oh we share a common memory of horror on the field. Mine however was girls’ softball. My place on the field was short stop and I spent most of the time praying the ball wouldn’t come my way.

    Over the years, I have developed a love of working out (aerobics and light weight lifting) I do not have to compete with anyone. The team does not have to rely on me for winning points or any points for that matter.

    As a teacher I saw many children who loved the competitive sports and just as many who preferred the sidelines or individual activities. I think all children should exercise and have fun. Those who love competitive sports should be encouraged to enjoy good sportsmanship and the fun of the game and those who don’t should seek what they enjoy. Seems so simple if the politicians would just stay out of the education business.

  2. Hooray for your view, Maria. We ought to let kids be the kind of kids they want to be. Our job as adults ought to be to provide diverse opportunities so all benefit.

  3. There was a strong tradition of games (football and cricket) and athletics at my secondary school but I heartily disliked both. From the 4th form upwards, we could choose cross-country running as our games activity, so I and a group of similar non-athletic games-no-hopers would together rush around the course and back to school. Once there we were allowed to dress and go home. (Incidentally, the most dangerous part of the run was crossing the playing field used by the nearby girls’ school – you ran for your life!)

    While I understand the benefit of gentle exercise for all, and would encourage that in schools, gym is too often taught by over-achieving gorillas with small brains who don’t know the capacity of children or the misery of being pushed beyond their ability.

    In my case, this forcing led me to vow that on leaving school, I would never again involve myself in games or gym and I have kept that vow. Looking back now, I think that is a pity as I might well have enjoyed, say, cross-country running, and benefitted from the exercise. In that sense, the school deprived me of a capacity to choose.

  4. rummuser said

    What is all the fuss about? If kids do not want to play competitive games, they surely are not compelled to do so are they? Not here they are not.

  5. grannymar said

    Give Dave a week and he will do a U turn!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

