bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

I wonder who “finalled” today ?

Posted by Big John on August 9, 2012

The TV was on, but I wasn’t really paying much attention, when I heard the newsreader say something about Britain “meddling”.

Here we go again, I thought, poking our noses into some other country’s business. Who have we upset this time, probably Syria or Iran, although these days it could be almost any nation in the world.

Then I heard the word “podiuming” and realized that I was listening to some form of ‘Olympic-Speak’ where the nouns ‘medal’ and ‘podium’ had been turned into verbs, and that a competitor in the ‘Games’ was not just being presented with a medal as he was standing on the podium. He was .. “MEDALLING” .. whilst .. “PODIUMING” !

I’m not sure if this latest ‘verbing’ can be blamed on our American cousins who love to ‘party’, as I have just read that Lord Byron wrote in a letter of 1822 … “He was medalled” and that Thackeray used it in 1860 in his Roundabout Papers .. “Irving went home medalled by the King”,  but then I don’t suppose that cringe making commentators like babbling Matt and gormless Gary will have picked it up from 19th century literature, so it probably started with some bloke in a pub, after he had spent the day watching sports TV while he was …

…   ‘PINTING’ !

3 Responses to “I wonder who “finalled” today ?”

  1. rummuser said

    You should have written our LBC post on Editing this week John!

  2. Just read that we are going to be heavily musicalled when the games are finalled.

  3. Ginnie said

    Well, I know nothing about “Olympic speak” since I am not a follower of the games … but I’ll bet you are glad it’s all at an end. Seems to me like money and tears were spilled all over the place.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

