bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 51 other followers

Boyle’s bizarre Britain.

Posted by Big John on July 28, 2012

I must admit that I have only seen some of the recorded ‘highlights’ of the opening ceremony of the London Olympics, so I expect that I missed a lot of what appeared to be totally pretentious waffle, which I’m sure must have left 95% of foreign viewers wondering what the bloody hell was going on.

I thought that the forging of the rings was quite spectacular and in keeping with the event, but what was all that “Carry On NurseNHS crap all about, and why was Kenneth Branagh made up to look like Bradley Wiggins when we had already seen the Tour de France champion putting all that effort into ringing that big bell; and it must have puzzled most Americans as to why the Irish actor was dressed as Abe Lincoln.

It was good to see the great Muhammad Ali put in an appearance, but I was a bit disappointed that Dick Van Dyke didn’t do a voice over (“Gawd ‘elp us, luv a duck”) when all those Mary Poppins appeared. That would have been a good laugh, which is more than could be said for the very unfunny and embarrassing ‘Mr. Bean’. J.K.Rowling must have got more chuckles than him when reading ‘Peter Pan’.

It was a real treat to see ‘er Maj’s knickers, but my favourite moment was during the mass three minute bell ringing earlier in the day when Culture Secretary Jeremy Hunt literally “dropped a clanger” ! I suspect that the bell had been tampered with by Mitt Romney. I understand that when people refer to Mitt as a Mormon they now leave out the second ‘m’.

The whole thing was summed up for me when some local ‘grime star’ (whatever that is ?) named Dizee Rascal  sang performed his hit … it’s title ? …

…  “Bonkers” !

3 Responses to “Boyle’s bizarre Britain.”

  1. grannymar said

    I had a lovely evening knitting!

  2. Never thought about omitting the second “m,” but that’s a fine idea. I taped the opening ceremony because going to a Dixieland jazz concert seemed more exciting. Will watch the complete spectacle tonight. I’m told the general opinion in the U.S. is that the Brits did themselves proud.

  3. Ginnie said

    Well I guess you can see why I’m backing Obama ! When Mitt the MORmON made his gaff all I could think of was how he’d represent the United States in foreign affairs if, God forbid !, he were elected. It’s a very scary scenario.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

