bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

The ‘terror’ of not being able to text !

Posted by Big John on July 12, 2012

My friend Ramana has recently posted about the use of mobile phones and in the past I have commented on people’s addiction to smartphones and texting, so I was interested to read that the O2 service in the UK ‘crashed‘ yesterday for several hours.

Now I know that this must have caused great inconvenience to many users and a loss of business to some companies, but why was I not surprised when I heard some silly cow young woman being interviewed on the TV news describe the temporary loss of her mobile ‘phone service as …

…   “FRIGHTENING” !

4 Responses to “The ‘terror’ of not being able to text !”

  1. rummuser said

    Yes, it is frightening like being without booze for the alcoholic.

  2. I understand her sentiments perfectly and see nothing ridiculous in them. Mobiles are now an essential tool in our lives and when essential tools fail to work you can left left in difficulties or even in danger.

    There was a serious outage of the Orange service recently in France. There, though, the government took it more seriously than ours did and at least two government ministers became involved. There is a realization there of how central mobile services now are to everyday life.

    If you don’t feel the need for a mobile yourself, fine, don’t use one. But don’t let this mislead you into thinking that the use of mobiles of somehow a trivial pursuit and a waste of time. For many people they are essential and for others their social lives have been immensely enriched by their use.

  3. grannymar said

    How did we ever manage years ago? First off we needed to have a pocket full of pennies in case we needed to make a phone call. Then we needed to walk down the street to find a phone box before dialling each digit on a heavy rotary dial, or call the operator to dial the number for us, put our pennies in the slot and press button A.
    After all that we seldom talked beyond the pips at 2.8 minutes!

  4. Big John said

    As I said ‘Tiger’… “I know that this must have caused great inconvenience to many users and a loss of business”, and of course mobiles are “essential tools” to some but how can a ‘glitch’ in the system be … “Frightening” ? = ‘causing fear or dread or terror’. Try waiting for the next bomb to drop … Now that is bloody FRIGHTENING ! ;-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

