bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Could this be a case of ‘blind faith’ ?

Posted by Big John on June 28, 2012

I have a notice on my street door which reads …

“IF YOU ARE SELLING … WE DON’T WANT ANY … AND THAT INCLUDES RELIGION … SO PLEASE DO NOT RING THE BELL ! … THANK YOU.”

So this morning … Ding Dong ! Ding Dong ! … I looked out of the window and saw a post office van across the street. I rushed to the door (those buggers don’t hang about) only to find a grey haired man dressed in black and two elderly ladies similarly attired.

“We would like you to have this” said the man holding out a small leaflet.

“What is it ?” I asked

“It’s an invitation to a little gathering” he replied.

“A religious meeting ?” I questioned pointing to the sign.

“It doesn’t say anything about religion on that sign” said the evangelical nutter. “No, it doesn’t” echoed one of his lady acolytes.

Can there be such a thing as bible bashers’ blindness ?

In Isaiah 42:16 it says … “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them” …   After meeting this fairly tolerant athiest on a bad day, they might not be too keen to … 

…tread my “unfamiliar path” again.

4 Responses to “Could this be a case of ‘blind faith’ ?”

  1. rummuser said

    I had two very well dressed smart young men land up on my doorstep one day wanting me to spare just a few minutes to listen to them. They were from one of the evangelicals here. I said that I would have no problem listening to them but would expect them to give me exactly the same amount of time to listen to me to talk about my belief and why they should give it a shot. They scooted.

  2. Ginnie said

    Do you really have that sign on your door? I can’t imagine anyone seeing that and ringing anyway. I guess they feel they are the exception. It reminds me of the do-gooder missionairies who go through anything to bring their “Christian” beliefs to the poor lost souls who were perfectly happy before they ruined it for them.

  3. Big John said

    I’ve tried that one Ramana and it worked, but Now I just can’t be bothered.

    Yes Ginnie I do have that sign. Many people have a more polite version but they don’t work as well as my “beware of the grumpy old git” version. :-)

  4. grannymar said

    I am familiar with the door knockers inviting me to ‘Tent Meetings’, usually run by small Gospel Halls in the county. I, for my sins say I will listen to them if they will stay and share the rosary with me. Being small minded blinkered proddies, they run like the clappers in case I contaminate them. It is a good job they don’t call my bluff, or I might be the fool.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

