bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

Missile madness !

Posted by Big John on May 2, 2012

Oxleas Wood is a very pleasant public park in the Royal Borough of Greenwich where, a few years ago, I spent many a happy hour when I lived almost next door, on Shooters Hill.

The name ‘Shooters’ is derived from the time archers practised their skill with long bows and arrows; and now I read that very different missiles will soon be seen in those ancient woodlands.

Yes, it’s all part of the £1 billion “ring of steel” to be set up to protect the bloody Olympic Games !

Inside the ring, enforced by six ground-based missile stations (Al-Qaeda please take note of the locations !), will be more members of our armed forces than we have deployed in Afghanistan at present. RAF Typhoon jets will patrol the skies, alongside navy helicopters carrying snipers from the Royal Marines, whose job it will be to shoot aircraft pilots who probably got lost when out taking their granny for a sightseeing flight along the Thames.

Still, not to worry, for our Dave has the final word when it comes to shooting down a really big plane, which by the time he has made up his mind, will probably be over a densely populated area of London.

I can see all this display of ‘security’ turning into a tourist attraction, as Seb Coe and his mates in our government try to convince the population that the ‘Games’ are safe, although it’s more likely to highlight the fact that the ‘Games’ are a magnet for every nutter and terrorist cell in the world.

“The world” ? … What about East London ? .. Well, I hope that I’m wrong, but I’m fairly sure that there are more than a few local residents who have been on a trip to the more remote parts of Pakistan recently, and who, after their ‘holiday’, will be pretty familiar with …

… all kinds of missiles !

3 Responses to “Missile madness !”

  1. Ginnie said

    It always amazes me how there is plenty of money for this sort of stuff … and yet never enough to take care of the needy 99% … whether it’s where you are or here in the States.

  2. rummuser said

    The madness takes other forms too. For two countries that can’t feed all their population properly, money seems to available for missiles.

    http://politact.com/vantage-point-analysis/missile-race-in-south-asia-enters-space.html

  3. grannymar said

    Will they be evacuating Queenie to the Outer Hebrides? All that noise is sure to upset the corgies never mind old Phil!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

