bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • April 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 57 other followers

Scruffs are Us !

Posted by Big John on April 12, 2012

One thing that I have noticed over the years is how standards of dress have declined. ‘Sunday Best’ disappeared years ago and even the smartest restaurants no longer require that “gentlemen wear ties”.

Today the unkept ‘celeb‘ look seems to be the fashion. Every TV chat show guest seem to wear the same ‘uniform’ of T shirt, suit jacket and jeans (holes are optional). 

The same thing applies when it comes to ‘proper’ uniforms. Just look at some of our police officers in their ‘hi-viz’ vests, polo shirts and baseball caps, or the assorted garish garb worn by many public transport staff and, by far the worst of all, the employees of ‘Royal Mail’. Yes, our postmen take some beating when it comes to ‘sack of shit’ scruffy ! 

I was reminded of just how things have changed when I was searching through some family papers last week and came across this photograph of one of my uncles. It was probably taken in the late 1920’s  and shows a very young man in the uniform of what was then The General Post Office (GPO).

I wonder what happened to …

“Taking pride in your appearance” ?

3 Responses to “Scruffs are Us !”

  1. Looking through a book on costumes, one quickly realizes how fashions and standards of dress vary through time and across communities. Clothes are not simply for the purpose of covering the naughty bits and keeping warm: they also indicate our relationship with our community (both conformity and rebellion). In that sense, we all wear a “uniform”.

    Language evolves by a mysterious process of consensus. Consensus is necessary because language endlessly changes (at times quite rapidly) but needs to remain comprehensible to all speakers. Costume is similar in that respect. While some people dress in eccentric fashion (just as some people speak in an odd way), the general trends remain within boundaries that are acceptable to the given society (.e.g. there is a limit on what parts of the body can be revealed in what circumstances – transgress and you get arrested).

    Back in the early to middle 20th century, “smartness” was in fashion, perhaps because we had had a series of wars that brought military standards to public consciousness. It is no longer so prized, nor was it before that period: look at pictures of people like Brunel and see their scruffy suits and battered hats.

    “Smartness” shades into obsessiiveness and too much of it is inconvenient to the wearer and a nuisance to others (“Don’t mess my hair!”). I think as long as people keep themselves and their clothes clean we can be relaxed about the rest. In fact, I rather enjoy the weird and wonderful and colourful costumes that many young people come up with. I have been known to ask permission to photograph them… :)

  2. rummuser said

    People do take pride in their appearance even now, except that the idea of quite what is appropriate now is different from our days. They have to follow the herd and that is so easy. I belong to your generation when even wearing a blazer to work instead of a full suit was considered infra dig. But now if I wear a blazer on trousers, I am considered to be stuffy!

  3. Ginnie said

    I prefer casual but there’s a big difference between “casual” and “just plain dirty”. This is most apparent to me when I compare the people watching I did back in the 50’s at airports (the very elite with their entourage of “underlings” trailing behind) and now with scruffy humans spread all over the floor sleeping until their plane arrives. Ugh…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

