bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Get there if you can !

Posted by Big John on January 31, 2012

Oh Dear ! … Well there’s a surprise ! … Someone has just discovered that there will be 3,000,000 extra passengers trying to squeeze onto London’s buses and Tube (subway) trains  during the Olympics, and bonkers Boris wants to add a few more by inviting Seb Coe and his ‘gravy train’ mates to enjoy the experience. So who’s going to ride in all those limos along all those dedicated VIP traffic lanes ?

As usual I am beginning to wonder if anyone has a clue about how to avoid complete chaos, apart from coming up with a website giving details about transport ‘hot-spots’ and which advises those poor buggers trying to get to and from work to “stagger” their travel times, alter working patterns and suggests, can you believe ?, that commuters might like to “have a beer” and go home an hour or two later rather than face the crush at the busiest times. Here is part of this ‘Idiots’ Guide’ !

It’s been more than ten years since I struggled to get in, out, and around London during my working day, and it was bloody murder then, so I dread to think what it must be like now, and, as I remember, Friday evening was a particularly bad time to leave the city, so I wonder what ‘bright spark’ had the great idea of holding the opening ceremony on Friday 27th July, one of the busiest holiday getaway weekends of the summer when traffic levels are already around 30% above average. The M25 will be fun !

Oh! .. and before I forget, I see that ‘Bully-Boy’ Bob and his ‘bandits’ are not happy with the latest ‘bribe’ to keep the trains running during the games. Still I suppose that their ‘bonus’ will hardly be noticeable amongst the staggering cost of an event in which most of the country has little or no interest.

I see that there will not be any parking at or around venues, so spectators are being encouraged to travel by public transport, (that is, of course, if it’s running and you can fight your way onto a train) or walk or cycle for bloody miles. Still, at least if you do that you won’t be stuck, sweating in a traffic jam and …

… the pissing rain will soon cool you down. 

2 Responses to “Get there if you can !”

  1. Grannymar said

    I am waiting for it to dawn on the ‘Powers that don’t know How’, that is the London Olympic Games and nothing to do with the rest of us!

  2. That is so funny. So if everyone goes home and comes back an hour later to miss the busiest time, wouldn’t that make a new busiest time.
    And how are they going to get all those people together to plan how to stagger their times.
    I’m glad I live in a small town.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

