bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

Let the circus begin.

Posted by Big John on January 2, 2012

I don’t pretend to know too much about American politics, except that how much money a candidate can put into his or her election campaign and how much mud they can sling seems to influence the voters; and in some parts of the US how big a religious nutter you are also seems to help, and this certainly seems to be the case in Iowa at the moment.

Newt and Mitt (where do they get these names ?) are Republican politicians who have been around for some time, and of course I have heard of the scary Michelle Bachmann and a few of the others, but where did this bloke Rick Santorum suddenly come from ?

Oh shit ! … I’ve just read that he is a looney evangelical who is known for his stance against gays, was a firm supporter of the U.S. invasion of Iraq, believes in all that ‘intelligent design’ crap, and is in favour of bombing ‘Eye-Ran’ !

Umm ! reminds me of a former Republican resident of the White House. I only hope that, unlike old ‘Dubya’, he doesn’t have …

…  a direct line to the Almighty !

4 Responses to “Let the circus begin.”

  1. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. You have to be a fanatical Christian and as you babblie about family values, you also need towave the fliag wildlyl That’s how you reach the heights in the polls. . . plus lots of money from the right wing coffers.

  2. Grannymar said

    I find it hard enough to follow our own politics, never mind understanding those of any other country.

  3. Santorum takes nuttiness to the extreme. He won’t have a chance if he gets to the general election. Iowa Republican caucuses aren’t representative of the state, or even of the party. Neither an extreme right- or left-wing nut can win the U.S. presidency, although the most recent Bush came close to fitting the description. About 40 percent of the voters consider themselves independents, and they swing the elections.

  4. Ginnie said

    Hallelujia, John … I couldn’t agree more and wish you lived over here so you could vote!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

