bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 51 other followers

Bandages or bullets ?

Posted by Big John on December 9, 2011

During the 18th and 19th centuries when soldiers in most British army regiments wore red coats with different coloured facings, cuffs, collars etc. musicians such as drummer boys wore uniforms in the ‘facing’ colour to denote that they were noncombatants and therefore it was expected that they should not become targets on the field of battle; for they also had another roll to play when the musket balls flew. They cared for the wounded and carried them from the battlefield. You could say that they were some of the first ‘medics’.

During World War 1 and World War 2 stretcher bearers and other medical personnel were identified by the red crosses on their armbands and helmets and they did not carry weapons, so it came as a surpise to me when I read that the first women in the British Army to kill a member of the Taliban in Afghanistan was a ‘medic’.

Now I know that this young lady was only defending herself against some fanatic who would not respect a red cross on her uniform, and that the arming of a ‘noncombatant’ is probably justified (and allowed under the Geneva Convention) in this case, but it came as an even bigger surprise to me when I watched “Ross Kemp – Back on the Front Line” on ‘Sky One’ the other evening and saw him riding in a ‘Jackel’ armoured vehicle where at one point one of it’s crew opened fire with a GMG (grenade machine gun) which is capable of firing 320 explosive rounds per minute. So hardly a ‘side arm’ for self defence, and yet the soldier handling this deadly weapon was also a ‘medic’ according to Ross.

War is a bloody awful business and men react in different ways to being in combat, but I find it hard to understand how a soldier who was trained to save lives could find himself in the position of trying to take them …

… on such a grand scale ? 

3 Responses to “Bandages or bullets ?”

  1. Wouldn’t is be wonder if all the fighters just declared themselves heros and went home to their families?

  2. Rummuser said

    I understand that against the Taliban, the rule is to defend if you are fired up on. The Taliban do not accept or follow the Geneva convention.The Red Cross, Aid agencies and other non combatants have all been victims of the Taliban’s aggression, because they are all infidels. Presumably, this is why the medics are also allowed to carry arms. One cannot fight with one arm tied behind one’s back surely.

  3. Big John said

    That would be a great day, Dick.

    My point, Ramana, is that the second ‘medic’ was not just defending himself, but playing an active roll in attacking the enemy with a very ‘heavy’ weapon.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

