bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

A puerile pavement party.

Posted by Big John on December 6, 2011

I know that I am way out of touch with many aspects of modern life, and most of the time I tend to ignore, what I consider to be, the strange behaviour of those around me; and in particular what has come to be known as “grief-lite” or “recreational grief”. In other words the extravagant public displays of grief by people for those they have never met.

I have written before about the roadside ‘shrines’ of plastic wrapped flowers and other ‘offerings’ which seem to appear whenever a tragic death is reported, but now this phenomenon has been taken to a new level with the horrific story of the alleged abuse of a baby in Gravesend, Kent: for, although the baby is reported to be recovering, the candlelit vigils and displays of ‘faux’ grief seem to be accompanied by vigilante violence, and something new has joined the teddy bears, candles and balloons … Chinese flying lanterns ! … Take a look again at the picture of the women launching them. Time to have fun girls ! Now they can …

…  really enjoy themselves !

2 Responses to “A puerile pavement party.”

  1. Horrific is the word for it. These self-satisfied moralists who think they can do anything they like against someone they consider to have committed a crime are as bad as the rioters in my book. We may recall similar violence against the person when an illiterate and stupid mob was unable to understand the difference between a paediatrician and a paedophile.

    I would issue the advice to the stupid that they should take no action unless instructed by someone wise but, unfortunately, the stupid are the last to realize that they are precisely that. Maybe a spell inside for criminal damage would at least instill a sense of caution.

    No, I don’t think so either.

  2. Ginnie said

    It’s interesting to note how these people profess to opening their hearts to the victimes … but try getting them to open their wallets to help those others who are suffering while still alive !

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

