bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Holy murder.

Posted by Big John on November 27, 2011

Anyone who is familiar with this blog will know how much I enjoy a good religious nutter story, but here’s one that most definately did not bring a smile to my face.

Yes, it would seem that a bunch of dangerous loony witch-doctors masquerading as Christian pastors have been exposed as being responsible for the deaths of at least half a dozen people in this country who believed the claim that their mumbo-jumbo cured the HIV infection through exorcism and prayer.

Now I get a bit confused when it comes to all these weirdo churches, but most seem to belong in the category of .. ‘fundimentalist Pentacostalism’ .. or .. ‘loony Evangelicalism’. This latest crazy bunch call themselves the Synagogue Church of All Nations, and as you can see from their website there are a number of ways in which they can fleece their gullible flock.

It wasn’t so long ago that even churchmen in the more mainstream Churches were indulging in ‘back to the Middle-Ages thinking’, with talk about Aids being “a plague sent by God”, so I’m not surprised to see this story about some bloke wearing a purple frock and waving a crucifix declaring that .. “Practising yoga is Satanic, it leads to evil just like reading Harry Potter”, and guess what ? …

Yes, he used to be the Vatican’s chief exorcist ! .. Just as Pope Benedict XVI, when known as Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger was the head of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, the Vatican’s enforcer of doctrinal orthodoxy, or what used to be called … “The Holy Inquisition” ! .. an outfit in an altogether different league to the Synagogue Church of All Nations.

Before I get too carried away on the subject of religious brainwashing and intimidation I’ll take a breather, and leave you with the words of the French essayist and philosopher Denis Diderot, who was one of the originators and interpreters of the “Age of Enlightenment”, and who summed up my feelings exactly when he said that ….

…  “Man will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest”.

3 Responses to “Holy murder.”

  1. John,
    Thank you for expressing your feelings which by the way I share totally. Somf
    Fifty plus years ago when I was in a Catholic High School I was lied to by the School Counselor who told me that the University of Minnesota cost the same as St. Benedicts College. My parents were working class folks and had no idea about colleges. Based on her lie, I did not go to college for five years. Instead, I married and became a victim of physical and mental abuse. Somewhere along the way, I found out that our local college cost 77 dollars a semester while St. Ben’s was over a 1000 dollars. I could easily have worked my way through the public school.
    Fortunately, I found a way to get my college degree, but I have never forgotten or forgiven that nun and the Church that deceived me in so many ways.

  2. I looked, and the website failed to “touch” me. However, “anointing water” could be useful if mixed with a liberal dose of bourbon.

  3. Ginnie said

    I try to be respectful of other’s beliefs … since I want people to respect my lack of belief, but this is taking it way too far. What always amazes me is the power that these crazies have over those who want so hard to believe what they spout !

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

