bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Pass the turkey burgers.

Posted by Big John on November 24, 2011

Firstly may I wish all my American friends a HAPPY THANKSGIVING. I hope that you all have a great time.

Having said that I wouldn’t mind betting that, somewhere here in the UK, some greedy bastards are working on some way to turn this all American celebration into a British one.

Already in this country we have adopted so many aspects of American life which may bring enjoyment to adults and children alike, but also make hundreds of millions for the money grabbing bosses of the companies who have encouraged our traditional festivals to be replaced by such events as  … ‘Trick or Treat’ ..  Valentine’s Day ..  Mothers’ Day .. Fathers’ Day .. and more !

It can’t be long before our children are ‘brainwashed’ into wanting Fourth of July fireworks and barbecues, and some clever dick comes up with a story about giving thanks for those descendants of the Pilgrim Fathers who returned to England and opened …

… the first McDonald’s. :-)

4 Responses to “Pass the turkey burgers.”

  1. Betty said

    As to your country adopting the many festivals of my country, I have only one word. RESIST! Most of the things we celebrate are made-up holidays with greed as the driving force. I’m referring to Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Grandparents Day, Boss’s Day, Secretaries Day, an on and on, which were thought up by greedy Florists. Nowadays, though, no one can afford all those flowers, so the Florists are suffering, and rightly so.

  2. Grannymar said

    Now be careful Big John, we certainly don’t need a holiday dedicated to Uncle Fast Food!

  3. Ginnie said

    I hate that you’ve been inundated with all those fabricated holidays. One of the joys of traveling is to get away from all that … but sounds like thats in the past !

  4. Rummuser said

    I have an idea Big John. You can become a big boss by going into business with this one. Celebrate all Independence days of all ex colonies. You can get them to pay for the celebrations too and you will actually be celebrating getting rid of a lot of rubbish, at their cost.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

