bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Big ‘phone, small print !

Posted by Big John on November 19, 2011

You may remember that recently my “DECT” telephone decided to call it a day at the same time as my computer was playing up. Well I managed to sort out the computer, but I had to buy a new telephone.

I know ! .. I thought, I’ll buy one of those “easy for old farts to use” models with the BIG number buttons, large bright display and adjustable volume control. Well, none of us are getting any younger and I could be needing all those features anytime soon.

So I searched the web for a simple cordless telephone which incorporated an answering machine, and spent bloody ages trying to find one. In fact there is no such thing as a “simple” telephone anymore, for they’ve all got …  Handsfree speakerphones … Baby phone / room monitoring …  5 polyphonic sounds & 10 melodies …  Alarm call & date reminder …  Paging … 150 numbers & name VIP directories …  20 last number redial …   Automatic redial …  Caller ID/CLIP … Call transfer  … Intercom …  40 minute answering machine …   Remote access … Call screening … and … a PIN protected mailbox. It wouldn’t surprise me if some had a “Beam me up, Scotty” button !

Now why would I want to store 150 numbers ? I can count the people I call on the fingers of one hand and none of them are VIP’s and I would probably forget the PIN number to my “protected mailbox” if I had one. 

Well to cut a long story short, I did eventually find an ‘old git friendly’ DECT ‘phone, and I’m quite pleased with it. It’s fairly simple to use and can be silenced when I’m having my afternoon nap. The only problem came when I unpacked the box and started to read the instructions which come in every bloody language under the sun, and mainly consist of tiny little diagrams linked by even smaller arrows, which must be difficult for even a young person with perfect sight to see and understand. How the manufacturers expect old biddies with dodgy vision to manage I don’t know. Ah ! well … 

… Pass the magnifying glass !

3 Responses to “Big ‘phone, small print !”

  1. Grannymar said

    I feel your pain! Here… you can borrow my magnifying glass, but I need it back before I open my post. :sad:

  2. Ginnie said

    I consider myself a techie simply because I can post a blog … all the rest leaves me in the dust. You should be proud of yourself for figuring it out …even with the aid of the magnifyer.

  3. Rummuser said

    Welcome to the club Big John. I would not know what to do without my live in son! He bluntly told me that I should not get myself a smart phone because it is for smart people.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

