bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

The machines are taking over !

Posted by Big John on October 29, 2011

I have not been blogging much this week, which is not to say that I have not been using my computer, or at least I have been trying to, for it seems to have taken on a mind of it’s own.

I won’t go into all the details, mainly because I don’t understand what has been going on, but it started when I tried to compose a document using Microsoft ‘Word’ and the programme didn’t think much of what I was doing and so started changing things.

Now the piece that I was writing was a little unusual, in that I was mixing various fonts, spacings, colours etc. but I didn’t expect to see the words ‘zipping’ all over the page, with some being deleted and whole paragraphs being totally rearranged.

The system then started demanding that I answer questions which I didn’t understand, got frustrated when I gave the wrong answers and decided to ‘log off’ ! … An hour later I was still trying to log back on !

I know I thought .. I’ll ‘phone the help-line… and guess what ? … I pushed the buttons on my expensive .. “all whistles and bells” .. ‘Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications’ super ‘phone only to discover that it …

…  had decided to take the bloody day off  !

2 Responses to “The machines are taking over !”

  1. Grannymar said

    I think your computer is trying to tell you something!! ;) Glad you have the problem sorted again.

  2. Rummuser said

    My first choice is still the old fashioned land line telephone which makes life easy to live for me. I also use a Mac after much frustration with Windows. Mac has never ever collapsed on me!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

