bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Mini mumbo jumbo.

Posted by Big John on September 17, 2011

I believe that the Apostle Paul warned against turning Christian church services into sideshows, fearing that an unbeliever, who walked in on one, would think that the believers were out of their minds.

Well he would have gone ‘apeshit’ if he had viewed The National Geographic channel the other evening when they showed one of the best religious nutter shows that I have seen in a long time. It was called .. “Pint Sized Preachers” .. and featured three bible bashing young people, one of whom claimed to cure the sick simply by touching them.

The star of the show was a four year old named Kanon Tipton, from Grenada in Mississippi, who has been dubbed .. “The World’s Youngest Preacher”.. and who “wages war on sinners in the name of Jesus” .. or rather, he precociously imitates his dad and grandad, just as any kid of his age would, except that his family are pulpit thumping Pentacostal preachers who spend their time haranguing their looney congregations in the name of The Lord. That is, of course, when they are not falling about and “speaking in tongues”, or shouting “Hallelujah !” as they count all those donated ‘greenbacks’ for God.

Now, just before we jump to condemn young Kanon’s parents and shout .. “child abuse!” .. and .. “brain washing!”, perhaps we should all remember that, all over the world, on special days, very young children are beside their parents in places of worship mumbling and whispering what they have been taught. They cannot possibly understand what they are saying, and neither does …

…  that little boy in Grenada, Mississippi !

3 Responses to “Mini mumbo jumbo.”

  1. Ginnie said

    Here you go again John … posting stuff about America that make me cringe with embarrassment.
    But I agree with you wholeheartedly … the rote learning that goes on in churches seems just as bad to me and since it’s started practically at birth it’s almost impossible to change later on. The Republican Party in our country is rife with this type of hogwash right now and it’s very scary to me.

  2. Betty said

    This is what bothers me about “home schooling.” I’m sure there are parents who feel better qualified than the local schools to educate their children, but mostly I see parents who want to “brain wash” their children with their own special brand of religion. There’s a lot of that going on here in the U.S.

  3. Like Ginnie, I cringe with embarrassement that such nonsense goes on here in the US. The Christian Right really worries me and I think it is the greatest turn-off for many of us.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

