bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

“It’s my turn to wear the blue sash”.

Posted by Big John on June 13, 2011

I see that the old royal dressing up box was in great demand for last Saturday’s Trooping the Colour, although Katie has not yet got around to wearing a ‘comic opera’ uniform, unlike Anne (“If it doesn’t eat hay and farts she isn’t interested” … her dad) or a Bonnie Prince Charlie Highland outfit like Edward (Royal Marines-Failed !), the so called Earl of Wessex. For some reason Randy Andy was in civilian garb, perhaps nothing in the box fits him, or maybe his mum won’t let him play anymore for being such a naughty boy. 

Willy still can’t make up his mind if he is in the RAF or the Irish Guards, but at least (well so far) he only wears one medal (Oh! .. and a big brooch) given to him by his gran, unlike his dad who seems to collect ‘gongs’ for doing bugger all: and as for the ‘ginger spare’, well he came dressed as a Horse Guard, although he is supposed to be a pilot in the Army Air Corps. The army may trust him with a horse, but surely not with an Apache Helicopter ! 

What a weird bloody lot the ‘royals’ are, living as they do in some fantasy world of fancy costumes, orders and decorations. Blimey ! …  ‘er Maj still hands out Orders of the British Empire.

Please remind me …

…   When did we last have an Empire ?

8 Responses to ““It’s my turn to wear the blue sash”.”

  1. Rummuser said

    As long as we have relics like my father around and the spill over generation like I belong to, the empire is alive and kicking! The royals however have little to do with it, but Churchill and Chamberlain most certainly do, and to put a nice touch to it, Margaret Thatcher is still highly venerated in some circles here.

  2. Big John said

    I bet you have one of those old maps on the wall Ramana, the ones with large parts of the world coloured in red. Bring back ‘Empire Day’ I say.

    “Margaret Thatcher is still highly venerated in some circles here”. I know that people in India venerate some strange things, but that’s pushing it a bit far. :-)

  3. Rummuser said

    Big John, India is an amusing paradox. Have a look at this: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/calcutta-club-stirs-up-colonial-tensions-by-barring-bengali-artist-2297356.html

  4. Ginnie said

    I’ve often wondered how long the Royals will be able to keep up the charade … but it can’t be any worse than our bunch of politicians in Washington. Now that the Republicans have a majority it has become a total mess and I just have to turn the whole world off … it’s a mess wherever you look.

  5. Big John said

    Love it ! Ramana.
    I just knew that the bloke in charge would a “Colonel”.

  6. Rummuser said

    This should amuse you more Big John.
    An RAF Group Captain was about to start the morning briefing to his staff. While waiting for the coffee machine to finish its brewing, the Group Captain decided to pose a question to all assembled.

    He explained that his wife had been a bit frisky the night before and he failed to get his usual amount of sound sleep. He posed the question of just how much of sex was “work” and how much of it was “pleasure?” A Wing Commander chimed in with 75-25% in favour of work. A Squadron Leader said it was 50-50%. A Flight Lieutenant responded with 25-75% in favour of pleasure, depending upon his state of inebriation at the time.  There being no consensus, the Group Captain turned to the Corporal who was in charge of making the coffee. What was his opinion?  Without any hesitation, the young Corporal responded, “Sir, it has to be 100% pleasure.”  The Group Captain was surprised and, as you might guess, asked why?  “Well, sir, if there was any work involved, the officers would have me doing it for them.”  The room fell silent.  God bless the lower ranks!

  7. Grannymar said

    I am playing catch up since eye surgery. This Post is just the tonic I need!

  8. Red Baron said

    I’m taking it Thatcher is revered in India the same as all other members of the bovine species!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

