bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

“Hi ! Is me wot u doing ?”

Posted by Big John on June 6, 2011

The other day I called in at my local pub for lunch. I don’t do this very often as it is one of those “family friendly” places with signs outside proclaiming … “Kids eat for £1″ etc. Still the food and wine are good value for money even if the dishes are not exactly ‘cordon bleu’, and when the little angels are in school it’s not a bad place to relax for an hour or two and observe some of the more exotic types who frequent this establishment.

Now I use the word “exotic” with good reason, for this pub does seem to attract a number of the ‘bling’ and tattoo brigade, not to mention one or two who are probably from the local branch of “care in the community”; and this day was no exception; for sitting at the next table was a young woman who looked like she was a refugee from the top trash TV show ‘The Only Way is Essex’, ( Yes, this is BAFTA winning entertainment ! ), complete with orange skin, someone else’s hair and lips like a bouncy castle. Next to her sat a teenage clone, although she did appear to have her own hair, but was wearing slightly fewer clothes. Both were clutching mobile (cell) phones and both were frantically texting.

The older woman switched from texting to ‘live’ calling while the younger one continued to jab away at her keypad which must have been difficult considering the length of her glittering false fingernails. They continued with this activety all through lunch, and I never once saw them speak to each other.

I say “all through lunch”, but for them lunch was a bit of a nonevent, for despite the fact that they had ordered starters, huge main meals and several side orders, most of it was cleared away without being touched. What on earth could be so important that it prevented them from putting down their phones and picking up their knives and forks ? … The latest ‘celeb’ news ? … The X Factor winner ? … Where to get a ‘vajazzle‘ ? .. or .. Perhaps they were just on …

…  the latest ‘BlackBerry’ diet ?

6 Responses to ““Hi ! Is me wot u doing ?””

  1. Ginnie said

    I used to think that wierdos like you write about were from a different planet … now they are so prevalent that I think I am the one who doesn’t fit in. I saw an interview of Lady Gaga recently and if that’s what our world wants to emmulate then all I can say is “no wonder this world is in a mess !”

  2. Grannymar said

    ‘bouncy castle lips’ I love it!

  3. Classof65 said

    I saw a Lady Gaga interview on “60 Minutes” just yesterday. They should have played more of her music so that I could actually make a judgment regarding her singing talent. It did look as though she could play the piano well, but they played so little of her music that I couldn’t decide. The other stuff — it’s so stupid and fake. She’s probably already made millions with that crap and she’s laughing all the way to the bank!

    As for the mobiles — I absolutely hate talking on the phone! It must be because I had to do so much of it when I still worked. And I hate those tiny buttons on telephones today. My hands have a tremor at times, so it’s very difficult to dial, let alone try to text. It’s annoying to me to have people around me talking on the phone in a store or restaurant. I don’t want to know their private life and wish they would KEEP it private…

  4. Dick Klade said

    I believe we saw the American cousins of the two lunching women yesterday. The only difference was they consumed every morsel of the food between punches on the keyboards. It was a sorry spectable, indeed.

  5. Dick Klade said

    Oops. . . spectacle. Must have been something wrong with mine when I proofed it.

  6. Rummuser said

    Could well have been mother and daughter. I see this phenomenon all the time here too. Sad really.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

