bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Pomp and popcorn.

Posted by Big John on April 26, 2011

I had intended to make this blog a … ‘Royal Wedding Free Zone’ … but I now read that the USA is in the grip of “royal wedding fever”.

At first I found this hard to believe, but having just watched the BBC news and seen the scenes outside Westminster Abbey where scores of American TV crews are already covering the preparations (including this nutter), I could not resist giving our cousins from ‘over the pond’ (and I suspect a few Brits) some information regarding their favourite ‘royal’.

When ‘er Maj and her mob gather on the balcony of Buckingham Palace after the wedding to wave to the ‘plebs’….
 
…   Don’t expect Colin Firth to make a speech !

6 Responses to “Pomp and popcorn.”

  1. Let the idiots have their fun. It keeps them away from the grownups and busy with their own silly fantasies.

    Tigger and I have more or less managed to ignore the wedding nonsense and on Friday (assuming the weather holds) we shall head for the seaside, thinking we know a nice quiet spot where echoes of this over-hyped event will not reach.

    If as hoped, we have a nice day out, then I might accord just the tiniest bit of thankfulness to the wedding for giving us an extra day off.

  2. Betty said

    Funny you should say that. I just watched “The King’s Speech” and enjoyed it. And, no matter what you say, you can’t convince me not to get up at 4:00 a.m. Friday morning to watch the wedding. (Yawn) lol

  3. Grannymar said

    It is times like this I am glad not to have television. That reminds me I have another form from the TV licensing people. I think there is some kind of vendetta for me and my address. :mad:

  4. Who’s getting hitched? Have it on permanent tuneout.

  5. Ginnie said

    It is so funny to read Betty’s comment because I was going to write (and still will):
    On CBS news tonight they reminded us all (their listeners) to be sure to set our alarms and get up at 4AM to watch the event … and I thought to myself there’s no way in the world that I would do that and can’t imagine anyone else wanting to either.
    Well … once again I see where I’m wrong !! but at least I won’t be tired all day.

  6. At one time, Americans refused to bow to royalty. Now some kiss their a….s. Disgusting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

