bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

Supermarket Spy.

Posted by Big John on April 16, 2011

In the past I often found that a visit to my local Sainsbury’s stimulated my desire to blog. In fact, no less that twentyone of my old posts refer to the supermarket chain in one way or another, my favourites being those that feature the ‘trolley’ (cart) and the idiots in charge of them.

Now it would seem that a new type of trolley is being tested in one of Sainsbury’s stores. Nicknamed the “Big Brother Trolley” it spies on you as you shop.  As if we don’t have enough bloody devices tracking us as it is !  .. ‘CCTV’ … ‘satnavs’ … ‘speed cameras’ .. etc. all keep an eye on our every move. 

Now along comes something that will know how and why we choose our baked beans. Our ‘loyalty cards’ already tell the supermarket bosses which brand we put on our toast on a regular basis. The information gathered from these mobile scanners can determine store layouts and the positioning of products on shelves.

If these ‘hi-tech’ carts work as well as their do-it-yourself check-outs I fear that the store’s shelves will soon be full of ‘bog-offs’ selected by…

…  the local bag lady.

2 Responses to “Supermarket Spy.”

  1. Grannymar said

    I heard about those trolleys on the radio. If the ‘sat-nav’ element of them locate the trolleys in a local river, will they be programmed to retrieve them?

  2. Some supermarket trolleys did seem to feel the urge to travel and I find them all over the city in the most unlikely places, serving the most unlikely uses – if decorating a corner of the park can be described as a “use”.

    I also see them on the move: they are quite popular with those bag ladies and bag gentlemen in the fortunate position of having accumulated a large collection of possessions. Similarly, I saw a railway station trolley being used in the same manner a couple of days ago. The mobile fraternity possibly consider the permanent hire of a trolly to be a £1 well spent.

    Personally, I have no problem with loyalty cards. I may be naive but I do not see how knowledge of my pattern of purchases impinges on my privacy or my rights and freedoms. We keep the credit (such as it is) on our Nectar cards throughout the year and then redeem the lot on our last shop before Christmas. That reduces the bill nicely.

    If position-aware trolleys make the layout of the store more convenient, then I’m all for it. I am not sure how your path up and down the aisles would be linked to you personally or what harm this would do, were it possible. I expect some conspiracy theorist or other will have the answers. They usually do.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

