bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

Census cock-up !

Posted by Big John on March 28, 2011

Being the good citizen that I am I have completed my census return, and surprisingly it was not as complicated as I thought it would be, so I don’t expect a visit from the “census police” anytime soon.

I took the completed form in it’s envelope along to the small postbox on the corner of my street, only to find that it was too large to fit through the slot. It’s quite a thick document (32 pages) so bending it didn’t help.

I had to visit my local post office to post a packet, so I took the census form along with me, only to find that a notice had been taped to the large postbox outside the building requesting that these official documents be handed to members of staff inside, so presumably they don’t fit into that box either.

Considering that hundreds of millions have been spent on this exercise, wouldn’t you think that someone amongst the Office for National Statistics’ army of bureaucratic prats would have noticed the problem ?

Oh! .. and by the way .. thousands of householders were unable to complete the census on line (as we had been urged to do) because the new website logged them off before they had finished answering all the questions.

… Un -BLOODY – believable !

5 Responses to “Census cock-up !”

  1. Ginnie said

    The incredibly stupid things that our governments do (both sides of the ocean…or all oceans!)
    absolutely boggles my mind. And they are all usually very costly mistakes.

  2. Jay said

    Sounds about right for government work.

  3. What in hell did the government want to know that took 32 pages of inquiries to find out?

  4. rummuser said

    Perhaps anticipating something similar, the Indian government decided to spend a lot of our tax money on sending enumerators house to house to conduct interviews and fill in forms. This is necessary here of course as either a lot of us are illiterate or cannot read the local language. These enumerators, I suspect were paid by the number of questionnaires they filled in as, they even surveyed the homeless and the transit passengers in railway waiting rooms!

  5. Grannymar said

    This is the first time that we did not have an enumerator call to check the information and collect the document. With all the publicity in recent years about the size of letters to be posted, surely somebody should have picked up the problem along the way.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

