bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

John Wayne has a lot to answer for.

Posted by Big John on March 23, 2011

Let’s be clear about it, we owe a great deal to the American Military, for if it wasn’t for all those “over paid, over sexed and over here” GIs in World War II most of Europe would be speaking German now.

However, one thing has always worried me about our American cousins when they go to war, and that’s their … “Gung Ho!” … “Kick Arse” … “Trigger Happy” …  attitude, for this often leads to the deaths of innocent civilians and in some cases the deaths of their own men and other allied soldiers in so called ‘friendly fire’ incidents.

In today’s newspapers there are two stories which illustrate this point. One is the horrific story of the “kill team” who murdered Afghan civilians and posed for pictures with their dead bodies, and the other is of the would be civilian rescuers of the crew of the downed US plane in Libya who were fired on or bombed by an American rescue team.

Terrible things happen in war, but we should be able to avoid happenings such as My Lai and Abu Ghraib, and it’s so easy to put all the blame on to the young troops on the ground, so perhaps it’s time that American generals started telling their men that a war zone is no place

…       for ‘high fives’.

7 Responses to “John Wayne has a lot to answer for.”

  1. A very unpopular thought: The U.S. Army was a better place when we had a draft (I served two years as a draftee). Our military now consists of hired guns who are in it for the money. In my day, the draftees, who were better educated and generally older than the regular army recruits, tended to provide some civility and common sense lacking in the other guys. We made a big mistake when we traded a democratic army for mercenaries in the aftermath of the Viet Nam War and protests.

    I note with some trepidation that Germany recently went the wrong way in cancelling its universal service. What system is in effect in Britain?

  2. Big John said

    Hello ‘Gabbygeezer’and welcome. Like you I was a conscript in the British military for two years, but this system ended back in the 1960′s. Like you I believe that our ‘draftees’ had an influence on the ‘regulars’.

    Today our servicemen and women do not earn a fortune so are not in it for the money, although I’m sure many are poorly educated youngsters who find it hard to find employment in civlilian life.

    Our army is small compared to the US, but is still based on the old regimental traditions and it’s officers seem to be of a much higher quality. It is now highly respected in the UK and on the whole keeps it’s nose clean, although I’m sure they are not all nice little boys

  3. Ginnie said

    The two instances that you sight make me sick, John, but I can’t believe that it is only the “gung-ho” Americans who are prone to make mistakes like these. During WWII our family was host to over 100 British sailors (we lived outside of Boston then) and we got some pretty grusome first-hand stories from their side of the war.

  4. Big John said

    Of course you are right Ginnie. It’s not that other nations soldiers do such terrible things that concerns me. It is the American military’s ‘cavalier’ attitudes that I find offensive, hence my referring to “high fives .. in a war zone”. Remember all those men cheering ‘Dubya’ with his “mission accomplished” speech: and he was ‘Commander in Chief’ !

  5. rummuser said

    What if the other side does not follow the Queensbury rules Big John?

  6. Big John said

    Umm ? ‘Rummuser’ … You must be thinking of .. “India’s First War of Independence” .. or .. “The Indian Mutiny” as I prefer to call it. ;-)

  7. rummuser said

    No, not at all. Ask the soldiers in Afghanistan what the Taliban do.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

