bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

One’s not made in China.

Posted by Big John on March 21, 2011

I see that Nutty Prince Charlie is selling a royal wedding souvenir jigsaw, which is described as .. “a finely cut wooden jigsaw featuring unique Wentworth “whimsy” pieces showing the engagement photograph of HRH Prince William and Catherine Middleton”. Price £29.95 ($47). I can’t wait to buy one.

Still, at least, the profits from it’s sale are going to charity, which is more than can be said for the ‘tat’ being sold by our future queen’s mummy and daddy and jolly old sister Pippa.

OK, so selling rubbish for parties is how they make a living, or so we are told, but do they really need to cash in on their daughter’s wedding when the family lives an enviably comfortable and privileged upper-class lifestyle, living in a large detached house in rolling countryside in the Home Counties. They are not short of a few bob if they could afford to buy Katie a £780,000 ($1,200,000) flat in the heart of Chelsea.

I bet that ‘er Maj did a ‘Queen Victoria’ and “was not amused” when she heard about the scratch cards and the other “Best of British” crap being sold by her future in-laws.

Although not sold by the Middletons, I believe that a mug has been produced for Fergie and all the ‘Sloanes’ who have been left off the invite list for the wedding. It bears the letters “NFI” standing for ‘Not Fuc Flippin’ Invited’. I won’t be buying one, but I will probably …

… buy some of .. THESE !

2 Responses to “One’s not made in China.”

  1. Something’s missing…

    Oh, I know what it is: one of those chamber pots containing an effigy of… well, anyone you like, I suppose ;)

  2. rummuser said

    I could not stop laughing for quite a while with “those”. Thank you Big John.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

