bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

Reggae-loving rodent.

Posted by Big John on February 18, 2011

What will they complain about next I wonder ? We seem to have a group of people in this country who will whinge and object about almost anything, including children’s TV.

Yes, the latest ‘racist’ programme on the BBC is … ‘Rastamouse’ !

Come on ! ..It’s entertainment for little kids of three or four years of age, and one of it’s creators is himself a black Rastafarian.

Rastamouse was launched on the BBC CBeebies channel as an animated series with particular appeal to young Afro-Caribbean children, and is based on the popular childrens’ books.

It appears that not only do some people think it racist, but they fear that their children will pick up the West Indian patois … and dat’s a bad ting.

What a load of old cobblers ! … When my daughter was young, one of her favourite TV shows was ‘Speedy Gonzales’, and she didn’t grow up …

… sounding like a Mexican.

5 Responses to “Reggae-loving rodent.”

  1. Jay said

    I loved watching Speedy Gonzales when I was a kid too. And I grew up to have tacos and tequila for lunch every day. ;-)

  2. Children are capable of learning several languages and/or dialects without confusion or mixing them up. My son grew up bilingual in French and English, for example, but in some countries children learn 3 or more languages as a matter of course.

    Children will not be harmed linguistically or educationally by watching programmes that use different varieties of English. Yes, they may adopt words and phrases from them but that is part of the inventiveness of youth and does no harm.

    In my book, “racism” is an attitude that demeans and disadvantages members of the particular race merely because of their race. Simply to portray racial characteristics in art or for entertainment is not in itself racist. Unfortunately, one of the evils of the existence of racism is that it makes people over-sensitive, leading them to make exaggerated claims against the portrayal of race. Would such critics complain that films of Sherlock Holmes are racist because they portray “Englishness”? Or The Scarlet Pimpernel because it “makes fun” of the French?

  3. rummuser said

    Big John, we are increasingly getting paranoid about human relations. You have race and multiculturalism and we have caste, language, sex and religion to handle and one does not know what is exactly politically correct. We have stopped being, or are afraid to be natural.

  4. Maria said

    I would rather have political correctiveness than go back to the unglness of the time of the Civil Rights Movement or the Homophobia of many Californians a few years ago when they voted Prop 8 to reverse the right of Gays to marry.

    I do think some people carry it to the extreme. Like those here in the U.S. who want to rewrite Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn by changing the word Nigger to Slave. A black friend of mine said, “It was a word used at the time. If I were a Black back then, I would rather be a Nigger than Slave any day.

  5. frisby said

    Viendo Speedy Gonzales no tuvo ningún efecto en mí en absoluto!
    xx
    Ama a tu niña maravillosa!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

