bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • December 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY CHRISTMAS.

Posted by Big John on December 12, 2008

I’ve now been at this blogging lark for five years and have just about run out of steam.

I’ve flogged the nostalgia to death .. I’ve ridiculed the bloody ‘royals’ whenever possible .. I’ve despaired at our dodgy government .. I’ve criticised the media, the arts and just about everything else .. I’ve ranted over religion .. I’ve tried to raise a few smiles .. and I’ve probably bored the pants off many of you.

I’ve enjoyed blogging on a regular basis and have derived a lot of pleasure from making contact with friendly people all over the world, but now I’m going to give it a rest for awhile. 

General MacArthur famously promised .. “I shall return” and old Arnie always says .. “I’ll be back” .. and so probably will I .. but for now  … 

end

20 Responses to “WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY CHRISTMAS.”

  1. I have no doubt that your active mind will find other ways of exercising itself. I hope so, anyway.

    Good luck for the future,

    SilverTiger

  2. Betty said

    Nooooooooooooo! Well, I do understand. But, I’ll miss reading your blogs. Please do come back, as soon as you feel you can.

    Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year.

  3. Lucy said

    I’ll miss your posts. I hope you’ll make it a short hiatus.

  4. Chris said

    Hasta la vista, baby!

  5. ferouzeh said

    I don’t believe this is happening : the only three blogs I was following all gone in the space of two weeks….. Anyway John thanks for your company during these five years and all the best
    Feruz

  6. Jackshian said

    Lazy bugger, but Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year John

    You will be missed

  7. You will be missed, come back soon.

    JWL

  8. Maria said

    John,
    I understand what you are saying. My blog has gone thru so many changes. I have enjoyed reading yours over the past three or four years and I hope you will be back soon.

  9. Ginnie said

    You’ve just ruined my Christmas, John, but don’t let that stop you! I’ve always enjoyed your “rants” and will miss you, but I understand exactly where you are at. It gets harder and harder to post a worthwhile (and amusing and informative)entry week after week.
    I hope you come back in 2009 John but I’m sending you and “she who must be obeyed” the very best wishes for the Holiday season and beyond.
    Hugs, Ginnie

  10. Terri said

    Oh NO….my heart fell when I first read this, but the saving grace was when I also read that you’d be back. Like the phoenix, I’m sure you’ll rise again..much to the delight of your readers. So guess we’ll just have to be patient.
    In the meantime, I wanted to wish you a very MERRY CHRISTMAS, John, to you and your family. Enjoy your time away from blogging.
    And I’m also wishing you all the best in 2009….a very happy and healthy year ahead for you.
    I’ll be back often to check in and see if you’ve resumed entertaining us.

  11. Darlene said

    Oh darn; I got back to reading your blog for the first time since I got home from rehab after suffering a broken hip only to see it’s the last one.

    Take a well needed rest and hurry back.

  12. To those of us still standing,

    Love sweet love!

    and all the best in the New Year!

    JWL

  13. Terri said

    Just checking in…..and wishing you a wonderful 2009! Here we are in another new year and each seems to go past faster than the one before.
    Hope you’re enjoying your time away from blogging. Your readers miss you.

  14. Red Baron said

    Hi John,

    as is patently obvious by the time it has taken me to read and respond to this post I’ve been on something of a hiatus of late too. It happens periodically, you need a rest and time to build up sufficient head of steam that has nowhere else to vent and then maybe you’ll find it useful to be able to come back here. I hope you do, as part of the old Blog-City comrades group it would be a great shame if you were no longer exorcising in public. Maybe post some photos or interesting links that you’ve found or such like to keep your hand in. Ultimately if you’ve enough to keep you occupied in the real world then more power to your elbow. I shall of course expect to see you at the gates of Buck House when we storm the place!

    The Baron

  15. A.H.Lippincott said

    We’ll miss you

  16. briggy said

    …. and have you returned yet?
    ;-)

    briggy

  17. Big John said

    Thinking about it, briggy :-)

  18. Red Baron said

    Stop bloody thinking about it and get going, honestly the old of today, too much fecking leisure time and pensions that’s what it is!!!

  19. Big John said

    Blimey ! It’s been a year Baron. Don’t time fly when you’re enjoying yourself. Keep watching this space mate, and remember … The revolution starts HERE !!! :-)

  20. Red Baron said

    Yeah just keep me posted, I wouldn’t want to oversleep!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

