bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 51 other followers

“Fings is bad and times is ‘ard”.

Posted by Big John on November 28, 2008

The other day I visited a giant ‘Staples’ superstore, and apart from the three or four staff chatting at the checkouts I was the only person to be seen within it’s walls. It was the same story when I later called in at ‘PC World’, and yesterday when I made one of my rare visits to a large shopping mall I found many of the shops to be empty of customers.

The newspapers are full of ads ‘shouting’ .. 50%  Off ! .. No VAT ! .. Half Price Sale ! .. and in the case of ‘MFI’, 80% Off – Closing Down Sale ! .. Even the mighty Marks and Spencer’s has been forced to have a 25% Off sale.

Poor old ‘Woolies’ has gone ‘tits up’, and despite the ridiculous 2½% cut in the rate of VAT handed out by our gormless Chancellor I’m sure that many more leading retailers will soon ‘bite the dust’ accumulating on their well stocked shelves.

Still, “It’s an ill wind as they say”, and if you have the cash, now is certainly the time to do a bit of shopping. The only problem is that my old brain is getting a bit confused with all the special offers around at the moment. There are just so many. There are ‘sale prices’ .. further discounts off ‘sale prices’ .. ‘buy any three for two’ (or is it two for three ?) .. ‘Nothing to pay for a year’ .. ‘Extra discounts on marked items !’ .. etc. etc., but I couldn’t believe the deal I got when I bought a couple of items at ‘Boots The Chemist’ yesterday, and was told by the lad at the checkout to go back in the store and select another item, for if I purchased three things instead of two I would get the cheapest of those three items .. “for free” ! … What a nice lad !

…   I just hope that he keeps his job.

4 Responses to ““Fings is bad and times is ‘ard”.”

  1. All these offers exist, of course, for one reason: to encourage you to spend money – money you would not otherwise have spent. It is the common and mistaken motto of bargain hunters that by buying cheap something they would not otherwise have bought they have somehow “saved money”. No they haven’t: they have spent money, not saved it.

    If I need something, I go out and look for the lowest price but I do not kid myself I have saved money – I have just not spent as much as I might otherwise have done.

    Sales are traps for the unwary for they tempt us with our own acquisitiveness.

  2. Maria said

    Silver Tiger is so correct. As much as I would rather not admit it, I am one who falls for those sales hook line and sinker. I do believe our local stores up all their prices so they can offer 40 to 60 per cent off items. I know they still make a big profit. This is Black Friday and for once I am not paying attention to sales, but sitting home with a cup of coffee, and fuzzy slippers and catching up on everyone’s blogs.. . smug in the knowledge that doing this is free or relatively free.

  3. Chris said

    With just about every shop in the country festooned with big signs saying ‘SALE’, I often wonder what French tourists must think of Britain, because, if I remember correctly, ‘sale’ is the French word for ‘dirty’.

  4. Betty said

    I usually try to have my Christmas shopping done by Thanksgiving, but this year, I’m waiting a couple of weeks more. I figure that in two more weeks, stores will be slashing prices even more, and since I won’t be shopping for any particular items – no toys, for instance, I think I can find some things my family will like. And, I’ll like the prices.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

