bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

Ban the brats !

Posted by Big John on November 8, 2008

I see that a cinema group has banned children from screenings of the new James Bond movie, ‘Quantum of Solace’, although it carries a 12A certificate which normally means that youngsters under twelve need to be accompanied by an adult.

This new rule has nothing to do with on-screen sex or violence. It’s because the kids are a bloody nuisance and spoil other people’s pleasure with their constant talking, swearing, eating and texting.

What a good idea ! … How about banning the little bleeders from pubs, restaurants, cafes, shopping malls and everywhere else that they are allowed to run wild.

My local pub lost my custom when it became “child friendly”. It even advertises that .. “Kids Eat Free” .. during some school holidays. I now avoid ‘like the plague’ anything involving ‘Special Deals for Kids’, and scan the ‘holiday’ pages in the newspapers for anything that is ‘Child Free’ or ‘Adults Only’.

OK, so I am a grumpy old sod, but I do believe that children’s behaviour is getting worse by the day. Just take a look at the out of control little monsters causing mayhem in the aisles at your local supermarket, or jumping the queue at the bus stop. Chain ‘em to the trolleys (carts) and make the little buggers walk, I say !

On a more serious note, it has now been reported that 46,000 children aged 11 and under, including 4.000 under 5,  were expelled or suspended from schools last year, not just for being a bit ‘naughty’, but for offences ranging from racism to drunkenness.

Many parents today seem to think that it is perfectly alright for their little darlings to behave in a disruptive or destructive manner, and will often jump to their defence in an aggressive way if someone, including teachers, dares to ‘chastise’ their precious offspring.

I can’t see things improving anytime soon, if ever, so I suppose that I will just have to get used to steering clear of kids, unless I want to be accused of being a paedophile, or being told to ..

“F**k off !” ..  by a five year old.

4 Responses to “Ban the brats !”

  1. Betty said

    I guess I must be grumpy, too. I avoid places that are “kid friendly” whenever I can. When “Jurassic Park” first came out, I went to the theater and there was a child of about 10 yrs. sitting beside me. She had a bag of candy with each piece wrapped in celophane, which she unwrapped one at a time throughout the movie. Now, I just wait for the movies to come out on DVD.

  2. We have slid so far down the slippery slope that, as you imply, it will take time and hard work to drag ourselves up to the top again. Events such as the cinema banning kids are hopeful, though, as they may be signs that people are coming out of their lethargy and beginning to demand improvement.

    Changes in society mean that we cannot simply go back to the old ways of doing things (“Children should be seen and not heard” is not appropriate to the modern world) but at the same time, people of every age have to behave responsibly, as much for their own sake as for the sake of others.

    Somehow we need to find a way out of the mess that over-permissiveness has got us into without becoming overly repressive. This is something that the whole of society needs to think about, not just the “experts”.

    I have met some very responsible and admirable young people, so all is not doom and gloom. The problem is how to get the fractious minority to behave more like these.

  3. Darlene said

    What happened to good old fashioned manners? What kind of adults will those inconsiderate youngsters grow up to be? There is a middle ground where children can be taught to respect the rights of others without being disrespected themselves.

  4. Terri said

    Yeah, add me to the “grumpy” list. Everything you said is spot-on. I now find myself cringing when kids are seated close to me in a restaurant or airplane. And the thing is, like you said….it’s the parents! They’re totally oblivious that their little darlin’s are causing the rest of us untold amounts of frustration.
    Give me DOGS any day out in public! I’ve always said that many are MUCH better behaved than the kids.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

