bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 54 other followers

The piffle of the ‘press’.

Posted by Big John on July 17, 2008

Amongst all the really important news in the papers at the moment, such as … Is Ronnie Wood bonking a teenage Russian waitress ?, or … Will Lib. Dem. MP, Lemsip Optic, (or whatever his bloody name is), give his Transylvanian ‘Cheeky Girl’ the elbow ?  or even … Will all those Anglican priests stop getting their cassocks in a twist and embrace (if that’s the right word for it ?) gay bishops ? … I came across one item that seems, for some reason, to have received little coverage …

No, it’s not the story about Barack changing his name to O’Bama to win the Irish American vote, nor is it ‘er Maj in a bikini, but the one about the man who was called a pervert for taking photographs of his own children in a case of what can only be called parental paranoia.

So despite all the shooting and starving going on in various parts of the world, nothing much appears to be happening at the moment according to most newspapers. Oh! … The price of a barrel of oil fell by $14, but they seemed to have missed that.

Sorry, I nearly forgot … The man who so bravely sent our troops off to war ‘chickened out’ of a visit to Gaza this week, while his greedy cow of a wife has agreed that she was wrong to accept payment for making a speech at a charity event in Australia. What a lovely couple ! … and speaking of ‘lovely’ (if you are a horse that is) …

I see that Sarah Jessica Parker’s mole has made the front page !

I think that it must be about time for one of those …

‘Let’s scare the shit out of them’ HEADLINES !

3 Responses to “The piffle of the ‘press’.”

  1. Chris said

    It won’t be long before winter time is with us again, though. Then we can all start worrying about ‘proper’ threats again — like bird flu! Go on, tell me you’re not just a leetle bit scared.

  2. Terri said

    You covered the current news spot on and once again managed to make me chuckle.
    And for this……….Go check out my blog post today because I’ve awarded you a blogging award and you can collect at my place.
    The reason: Your wonderful tongue-in-cheek sense of humor and brilliant way of viewing the world and all that’s in it.

  3. Ya, you are right, where is Chicken Little when we really need him, ha ha.

    JWL

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

