bigjohn

There is many a good tune played on an old fiddle.

  • Warning! Elderly Person Blogging

    elderly1.jpg

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    t-blogger.jpg

    lion-2.jpg

  • Awarded by Terri. Click below for 'Island Writer'.

  • My Life and Times

    I was born in 1939 BC. That's 'Before Computers'. Luckily I survived the following events in my life, such as World War II, The London Blitz, Rationing, and worst of all... Archbishop Temple's School.

    me-poster.jpg

    me-r-book.jpg

    a-b-t-1.jpg

    During the mid 1950s I was enjoying Rock 'n' Roll and being a first generation teenager, when suddenly, just like Elvis, I found myself in uniform during 'The Cold War'...and then

    copy-me-rr.jpg

    me-w-badge.jpg

    wed-baby.jpg

    I became 'a family'. Which meant that I sort of missed the 'swinging sixties', but still managed to look a complete prat in the 70s, just like everyone else.

    copy-of-70s.jpg

    me-pit.jpg

    golf-dinner.jpg

    During the 'Thatcher Years' I lost my hair and a lot of people lost a good deal more. My career fluctuated to say the least as I was demoted, promoted, fired and hired a number of times, but still I managed to stagger on into a welcome retirement and to celebrate 50 years of happy marriage.
  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • RSS Validated.

    valid-rss.png
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

“We’ve been together now …”

Posted by Big John on July 8, 2008

Today is my 47th wedding anniversary.

Blimey ! Have I been living with my little führer for all those years ?

Yes, I was a mere child when one night at The Streatham Locarno I was waylaid by an older woman who swept me away on a number 59 bus to a land known as Brixton, where she had her wicked way with me, and has since ruled my life as ‘she who must be obeyed’.

I can’t say that it has been a bad marriage, although I do get a bit fed up with always getting an apron and rubber gloves for my birthday each year.

Today she has promised to take me out to lunch, so I’m making some sandwiches in the hope that we can find a vacant park bench. 

Don’t get me wrong, I have deep feelings for my old ‘trouble and strife’, in fact you might say that I worship the ground that is coming to her.

As today is a special day she has agreed that I can have a second cup of cocoa this evening, but only if I behave myself.

Fortyseven years is a very long time to spend with the same person: so if I could live my life over and do it all again … would I ?

You can bet your bloody life  …

…  I would.  :-D

8 Responses to ““We’ve been together now …””

  1. jessicadowns said

    Congrats!

  2. Betty said

    Congratulations to you and “she who must be obeyed”, otherwise known as “the saint”.

  3. Chris said

    Congratulations to you both. Hope you had a good lunch. And here’s to the next 47 years! :)

  4. Good on ya John and the Missus, i envy you cause i could never get it right (two time loser) .

    Many more of the same Mate!

    JWL

  5. Jackshian said

    Congratulations to you and the missus, John especially as you are now in the minority (being married that is)- I hope to go to the wedding of one of my sons one day – I know the grandchildren would enjoy it.

  6. oscarandre said

    Well, you know what they say, John, every woman should marry and no man ever should. But well done anyway! :) Nearly 50 years of holy padlock is quite an achievement!

  7. ginnie said

    How lucky can one man get? You are definitely in the minority in this day and age…but I admire it greatly.

  8. Terri said

    Awww….do I detect a bit of romance behind these humorous words?
    Wishing both of you a belated Happy Anniversary!
    There’s a lot to be said for spending 47 years together, so bravo!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

